The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Organisers name teams, release format for NCC Tennis Cup



Henry Atseye is one of the players listed for the NCC Cup, which serves off in May.

ORGANISERS of the maiden Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) tennis championship, also known as NCC Cup, have revealed that the competition will take the round robin format with players divided into eight teams.

The event, which is scheduled to hold in May, will see different categories of winners sharing from the N11 million prize money. According to the organisers, International Tennis Academy (ITA), the eight teams will compete for the star prize of N5 million and the teams have been divided into two groups of four each.

Matches will be played in a round robin format with the top two teams in each group progressing to the semifinal stage of the championship. Aside the star prize for the eventual winner, second, third and fourth placed teams will get N3 million, N2 million and N1 million respectively for their efforts.

According to the calendar released by the ITA, Blue Group based in Owerri, has Team Civil Defence, which will play its first match in Onitsha, second match in Owerri and third game in Abuja. In the team are Clifford Enosoregbe, Abdulmumuni Babalola, Shehu Lawal, Jonah Samuel, Christie Agugbom and Bukola Olowu. Team Tombim based in Abuja comprises Atseye Henry, Michael Moses, Paul Christian, Omoile Samuel, Mbanu Onyeka, Adegoke Sarah, Mbadiwe Christie and Agadi Okani.

Team Tombim will play its first game against Team Delta in Asaba, meets Team Anambra in its second game in Abuja before taking on Civil Defence in Abuja. Team Delta, based in Asaba, has as team members Candi Idoko, Albert B/Com, John Otu, Joseph Iyorube, Jinadu Owolabi, Ann Okoro, Marian Okoro and Elizabeth Pam.

Team Delta will play its first game against Team Tombim in Asaba, meet Civil Defence in the second match in Owerri before taking in Onitsha are Ike Iloputa, Nnaemeka Achusim, Augustine Nwokedi, Tochukwu Ezeh George Osakwe, Stella Udokwelu And Amara Nwokolo. In the White Group is Team Kalotari, which has Sunday Maku, Thomas Otu, Sylvester Emmanuel, Musa Bala, Godgift Timibra, Osa Airhunwunde, Anu Aiyegbusi and Rita Obasogie.

It is based in Port Harcourt. Also in this group are CBN Futures, Team FCT and Team Ogun. Team Ogun and FCT are based in Abeokuta, while Team CBN Futures is in Kaduna. Team Ogun has as members Joseph Imeh, Monday Igbinovia, Ayobami Odeyemi, Opeyemi Odeyemi, Ronke Akingbade, Patience Onebamhun and Simbiat Aleem. In Team FCT are Emmanuel Sunday, Mohammed Moh, Paul Emmanuel, Peter Lawal, Blessing Samuel, Rose Abu and Faith Sunday, while CBN Futures has Emmanuel Idoko, Chris Itodo, Michael Michael, Chris Bulus, Martins Abamu, Angel Mcleod, Zainab Oladimeji and Marylove Edwards.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet