The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Swimming federation picks 10 for West African Championship


SwimmingThe Nigerian Swimming Federation (NSF) has chosen 10 swimmers to represent the country at the CANA Zone Two Championship slated for May 27 in Dakar, Senegal.

Zone Two comprises all the West African countries.

The swimmers were picked after a two-day trial held at the swimming pool complex of Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Lagos.

Among the swimmers picked in the men’s category are Ifeakachukwu Nmor from Delta State, Kingsley Forcados (Delta), Christian Obomanu (Edo) and Duke Eniyekenemi (Delta).

Others are Yellow Yeiye of Nigeria Police and Samson Opuakpo (Delta).

In the Women’s category are Yinlayefa Uwaji from Delta State, Akiyefa Timipanu-Ere, also of Delta State, Faith Edorodion (Edo) and Rachael Tonjor (Nigeria Civil Defence Corps).

The NSF said the selected swimmers took part in 100m backstroke (men and women); 100m individual medley (men and women); 100m butterfly (men and women), 200m breaststroke (men and women), 50m freestyle (men and women) and 100m freestyle (men and women) during the trials.

Swimmers from six states, as well as representatives of The Nigeria Police, Nigeria Civil Defence Corps and Ikorodu Local Council took part in the trials.

The selected swimmers are expected to arrive in Lagos today for a three-day intensive training ahead of their departure for Senegal.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet