The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Varsity launches scholarship scheme to reward excellence, hardwork


Vice chancellor, Prof Rotimi Ajayi (middle); in a group photograph with the Director, Scholarship and Work-Study Administration, Prof. Alaba Simpson, members of the university management team and awardees at the ceremony.

As part of efforts to reward hardwork and excellence, the management of Crawford University, Igbesa has formally inaugurated a scholarship scheme in the institution.

Director of Scholarship and Work-Study Administration (SAWSA), Prof. Alaba Simpson said the scheme was put in place to honour, encourage and reward diligence and scholarship.

“The scholarship, essentially a percentage reduction in the tuition payable by the students was effected by the pay-back of the percentage to the most outstanding students with the highest Cumulative Grade Point Average, CGPA from each level drawn from all programmes in the two colleges, that is, the College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CONAS), and the College of Business and Social Sciences (CBSS) of the university. The Cumulative Grade Point average (CGPA) was obtained from the second semester of their immediate past level’s results.

Simpson noted that the programme marked “the beginning of a journey for the university in its quest to create an ever-widening access to higher education for generations of Nigerians.”

On his part, the vice chancellor, Prof. Rotimi Ajayi explained that the gesture is to reward hardwork believing that by so doing, the spirit of healthy competition would be promoted among the students current beneficiaries would want to retain their status while others too, would want to double up their efforts to dislodge the beneficiaries, thereby throw up another set of awardees by the next opportunity

Winners of the scholarship programme include Akinyemi Oluwatobi Dominion, a 300-level Microbiology student with CGPA of 4.95; Oyagbohun Adeola Victoria, 300 level Biochemistry with CGPA of 4.85; Oloyede Oluwatoyin Olufunke, 200 level Mass Communication; Lere-Adam Mefua Jemima, 300-level Political Science with 4.78 CGPA.

Others include Alexander Ruth Ojochenemi, 100-level Economics with CGPA OF 4.67; Bhadmus Blessing Adebimpe, 100-level Political Science with CGPA of 4.67 and Adegoke Diekola Akingbade, 100-level Computer Science with 4.62 CGPA.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet