Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

Igbo Language Film Award jury inaugurated

L-R: Kelly Ihetu, Prof. Tracie Utoh-Ezeajugh, Prof. Pita Ejiofor, Nze Uche Nworah and Barister Uju Aroh

Professor Pita Ejiofor, Founder of Otu Suwakwa Igbo Initiative today, Tuesday, May 16th 2017, inaugurated a Four -Man Jury that will judge Igbo language films submitted for the 2017 Igbo Language Film Awards.

The Jury members include Nze Uche Nworah, Managing Director and CEO of Anambra Broadcasting Service, Prof. Tracy Utoh-Ezeajugh, Dean, Faculty of Arts, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Barrister Uju Aroh of National Film and Video Censors Board and Kelly Ihetu of Silverbird Group.

While inaugurating the Jury, Prof. Ejiofor said that the Igbo language Film Awards is an initiative of the Otu Suwakwa Igbo and is part of their efforts to promote Igbo language and Igbo cultural identity. He charged the Jury to apply their professional experience and judgement in their duty while being guided by the award criteria.


In his response, a member of the panel, Nze Uche Nworah thanked Otu Suwakwa Igbo for finding the Jury worthy to serve and assured that they will do their best to select the best Igbo language Film from the shortlisted 11 entries. He also called on well meaning Ndigbo to endow prizes in future editions of the Igbo language film awards.

The Jury has a month to complete their assignment. Igbo language films submitted for the award will be judged based on originality of script, use of Igbo language, visual and audio quality, role interpretations, costume and make-up, camera work, editing and finally adherence to guidelines.

The 2017 awards are endowed by Godwin Ezeemo. The winner will receive a plaque and one hundred thousand Naira prize money. There are also consolation prizes for 2nd, 3rd and 4th prize winners

In this article:
Igbo Language Film Award
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421