The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

Afro Pop Singer Jaywon, Releases 3rd Studio Album “Oba Orin”

The 21 track-album features Tiwa Savage, Oritse Femi, Reekado Banks, 9ice, Reminisce, Small Doctor, Sojay, Obesere and Mode 9 with intro byKris D’Razor.

The LP serves as the follow-up to his previous albums “Meet with Jaywon” (2011) and This year ’’(Odun Yi ) (2014). The album houses his popular singles including ‘My way’ featuring Tiwa Savage, ‘Back to sender’ featuring Vector, ‘Madantin’ remix featuringMay D, Phyno  and Olamide as well as his latest single ‘Jolly muke’featuring 9ice

The Afro-pop singer came into the limelight on signing with Kennis Music label in 2009 after he was discovered at one of the editions of the annual Kennis Music Easter Fiesta. In his first year at Kennis Music, Jaywon won the ‘Best New Music Video’ at the Nigeria Music Video Awards (NMVA) in 2009 for his break out song ‘Filebe’. He exited Kennis Music in 2014.

Contrary to speculations that  Jaywon, had left Kennis Music, owing to a disagreement with the label owners, the singer  said that there was no such thing, as his contract with the label merely expired. “I have moved on. My contract with Kennis Music has expired. My exit from Kennis Music was not on an ill note. I have moved on but we are cool.” He went on to float his own label Next World Music and hopes to sign artistes later in the near future.

Jaywon was a recipient of the award for record of the year at The Headies 2013 for his single ‘This year‘ off his “Odun Yi  2015″ album released in 2014.


In this article:
Oba Orin
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421