Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Authors shortlisted for 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature


Photo: innovation-village

Photo: innovation-village

FISTON Mwanza Mujila, Penny Busetto and Rehana Rossouw have been announced as the three shortlisted authors for the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature, the first pan-African prize that is open solely to debut fiction writers from African countries.

Now in its third year, the prize is acknowledged as one of the most prestigious literary prizes for African fiction.

The three books, selected from the long list of nine are Tram 83 (Deep Vellum) by Fiston Mwanza Mujila (from Democratic Republic of Congo), The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself (Jacana Media) by Penny Busetto (from South Africa) and What Will People Say? (Jacana Media) by Rehana Rossouw (from South Africa).

They were selected by a three-member judging panel including Ghana’s Ato Quayson, a professor of English and inaugural Director, Centre for Diaspora Studies at University of Toronto (Chair of Judges); Nigeria’s Molara Wood, writer, journalist, critic and editor and Kenya’s Zukiswa Wanner, author of Men of the South and London Cape Town Joburg.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet