The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter

APC barred from Kogi East/Central Senatorial reruns


INECINDEPENDENT National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the exclusion of the All Progressives Congress (APC) party from the rerun election in to the Senate for Kogi East/Central Senatorial districts, Okene/Ogorimagogo Federal Constituency and Ofu/Ankpa1 State constituencies respectively.

Resident Electoral Commissioner(REC) Mallam Halilu Pai who made the disclosure yesterday said INEC as a law abiding commission was only obeying the directives of the appeal court where the petitions were finally dispensed.

He however pointed out that if there is any contrary judgment and directive from the court before the 20th of February, 2016 date for the rerun , the commission would comply.

According to a document made available during its stakeholders meeting yesterday the REC said, “Election into Kogi Central/East senatorial districts will feature the same political parties and candidates excluding APC and its candidates.
Okene/Ogorimagongo, Federal constituency, Ofu and Ankpa1 State constituencies will feature the same parties and candidates excluding APC and its candidates.

“For the other reruns in Dekina1, Okura and Idah Star constituencies all political parties that participated in the 2015 general elections will participate.”

Pai in response to an observation that the concerned candidates were in court over the issue of their exclusion and whether it would have been wise for the umpire to wait for that judgment, said they will take into cognizance any new issue from court.

According to him 28 petitions were filed after the general elections adding that they received orders that rerun should be conducted.

No Comments yet