Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

Duncan Mighty Nominated For The 2018 Nigerian Entertainment Awards

It has been a good year for Duncan Mighty as he has become a favourite of Nigerian artistes for his Port Harcourt spice.

The artiste whose songs Ijeoma, Port Harcourt son, Ako Na Uche and Obianuju won him international acclaim seemed to have disappeared from the music scene until his recent feature on Wizkid’s Fake Love. Since then, he has made hit songs with Tiwa Savage, Olamide, Davido among others.

The “Port Harcourt first son” gets his fourth nomination in the The Nigerian Entertainment Awards (NEA) for Most Promising Act To Watch. In 2011, he won the “Indigenous Artist of the Year”.

The 13th edition of the awards will see him compete with other nominees in 20 categories.

Come the 10th of November, the awards will hold at Washington DC.

See the complete list below:

See the complete list below:

Album of the Year

  • Similola (Simi)
  • Sugarcane (Tiwa Savage)
  • First Daze of Winter (Maleek Berry)
  • Outside (Burna Boy)
  • About 30 (Adekunle Gold)

Hottest Single of the Year

  • Legbegbe (Mr Real)
  • Science Student (Olamide)
  • Baba (DJ Spinall x Kizz Daniel)
  • Assurance (Davido)
  • Soco (Wizkid)

Best New Act

  • Slimcase
  • Small Doctor
  • Lady Donli
  • Dice Ailes
  • Mr Real

Afropop Male Artist of the Year

  • Olamide
  • Wizkid
  • Davido
  • Kiss Daniel
  • 2Face

Afropop Female Artist of the Year

  • Yemi Alade
  • Tiwa Savage
  • Seyi Shay
  • Simi
  • Niniola

Diaspora/International Artist of the Year

  • Rotimi (U.S.)
  • MNEK (U.K.)
  • Skepta (U.K.)
  • Kah-lo (U.K.)
  • J Hus (U.K.)

Alternative Artist of the Year

  • Flavour
  • Patoranking
  • Johnny Drille
  • Adekunle Gold
  • Zoro Swagbag

Most Promising Act to Watch

  • Teni
  • Idowest
  • Bella Alubo
  • Wilfresh
  • Dapo Tu Burna
  • Trailblazer of the Year
  • Maleek Berry
  • Duncan Mighty
  • Mayorkun
  • Mz Kiss
  • CDQ

Best Music Video (Director)

  • Malo (by Tiwa, dir: Meji Alabi)
  • Big Daddy (by Ice Prince, dir: Clarence Peters)
  • Closer (by Wiz Kid, Dir: Daps)
  • This is Nigeria (by Falz, dir: Prodigeezy)
  • Ire (by Adekunle Gold, dir: Aje)

Music Producer of the Year

  • Killertunes
  • Spellz
  • Fresh
  • Kriz beat
  • Philkeyz
  • Jaypizzle

Best Male Artist Non Nigerian/Africa

  • Sarkodie (GH)
  • Khaligraph Jones (KQ)
  • FA (LIB)
  • Fikfameica (UG)
  • KiDi (GH)

Best Female Artist Non Nigerian / Africa

  • Betty G (ET)
  • Becca (GH)
  • Victoria Kimani (KQ)
  • Sheebah (UG)
  • Heyden Adama (SL)

Comedy Act

  • Kenny Blaq
  • Charles Okocha
  • Lasisi Elenu
  • Oluwakaponeski
  • Maraji

Freshvibes of the Year

  • Squeeze Tarela
  • Mr Shaa
  • Kayjay
  • Peruzzi
  • Marz Brown
  • SammyLee

Best Lead Role in a Film (Female)

  • Adesua Etomi (Wedding Party 2)
  • Lilian Afegbai (Bound)
  • Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Alter Ego)
  • Bimbo Ademoye (Back up Wife)
  • Dakore Akande (Isoken)
  • Lilian Echelon (Blackrose)

Best Lead Role in a Film (Male)

  • Femi Adebayo (Etiko Onigedu)
  • Blossom Chukwujekwu (The Big Fat Lie)
  • Kalu Ikeagwu (Benevolence)
  • Ali Nuhu (Mansoor)
  • Adebayo Salami (Adaba)
  • Odunlade Adekola (A Million Baby)

Best Picture of the Year

  • Alter Ego (Moses Inwang/Esther Eyibio)
  • Isoken (Jade Osiberu)
  • Banana Island Ghost (Biola Alabi)
  • Hakkunde (Oluseyi Amuwa)
  • Etiko Onigedu (Femi Adebayo)
  • Children of Mud (Imoh Umoren)

Best TV Show

  • Papa Ajasco Reloaded
  • Jenifa Dairies
  • This Is It
  • Gina and Friends
  • Inspector K

Best Lead Role in TV

  • Funke Akindele (Jenifa Dairies)
  • Eniola Badmus (Papa Ajasco Reloaded)
  • Koye Kekere-Ekun (Inpector K)
  • Aborisade Motunrayo (Jenifa Dairies)
  • Kunle Idowu (Papa Ajasco Reloaded)
  • Lilian Esoro (3 is A crowd)

Best Lead Role in Film (Non Nigerian)

  • Chris Attoh (Esohe)
  • Cindy Sanyu (Bella)
  • Rushabiro Raymond (The Torture)
  • Adjetey Anang (Keteke)
  • Nyce Wanjeri (Auntie Boss)
  • Pearl Thusi (Catching Feelings)

Best World DJs

  • DJ Brave
  • DJ TTB
  • DJ Buka
  • DJ Dee Money
  • DJ Jamstar
  • DJ Expressions

Best DJ Singles of the Year

  • DJ E Cool (Ada ft. Davido)
  • DJ Spinall (Baba ft Kizz Daniel)
  • DJ Xclusive (Shempe ft Mz Kiss/Slimcase)
  • DJ Cuppy (Fight ft Mr Eazi)
  • DJ Enimoney (Diet ft Tiwa/Reminisce/Slimcase)
  • DJ Consequence (Do Like This ft Tiwa/Mystro)

Radio On Air Personalities of the Year

  • Moet (Soundcity)
  • Tisan (Raypower)
  • Adeshope (Beat FM)
  • Sophia Anidugbe (Cool FM)
  • Jennifer Nzewunwah (Kiss FM)
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421