The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

RIVERS: Sekibo, Nwogu, Ideozu, Others For New NASS



George Thompson Sekibo

ALL the three senatorial and House of Representatives candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who contested in the March 28 National Assembly election in Rivers State won their seats.

In Rivers East, the incumbent George Sekibo, who is the Senate Committee chairman on Defence and Army, won with 662278 votes, to defeat the All Progressives Congress candidate, Andrew Uchendu, who polled 52064. Sekibo has been a member of the Senate since 2007 and is considered one of the most resourceful members of the Upper legislative chamber.

He sponsored the motion on the Mandatory Installation of the Emergency Locator Transmitter Beacon 406MHz in all Aircraft. Sekibo also presented a bill for the Establishment of Mining Cadastre Office, Bill 2008. He said this Bill, though withdrawn due to some technical details, helped create awareness and bring to the front burner immediate need for the establishment of the Mining Cadastre Office, as provided by the Minerals and Mining Act 2007.

It is also on record that he presented a motion on Unauthorized Expenditure and Misapplication of Funds from the Development of Natural Resources Fund. The motion led to the Senate Resolution mandating the Committee to commence investigation of unauthorized expenditure misapplication of funds from the Development of Natural Resources Fund.

Some serious revelations have been made and further expenditure from the fund put on hold. A former House of Representatives member, Olaka Nwogu, has been elected to represent Rivers South East senatorial district.

He polled 408353 votes to defeat incumbent Senator Magnus Abe of the APC, who had 23052. Nwogu is an experienced legislator, having represented Tai/Eleme/Oyibo federal constituency, 1999 to 2011.

The only senator elect whose legislative competence at the national arena has not been tested prior to this time is Mr. Osinakachukwu Ideozu, who won the Rivers West seat. He polled 279745 votes, to defeat the Speaker of the Rivers State House of Assembly, Otelemaba Amachree of the APC, who scored 24687 votes.

Five members of the House of Representatives namely Mrs. Betty Apiafi (Abua/Odual/Ahoada East); Kingsley Chinda (Obio-Akpor); Kenneth Chikere (Port Harcourt 1); Blessing Nsiegbe (Port Harcourt 2); and Gogo Bright Tamuno (Okrika/Ogu-Bolo) are all returning to the lower legislative chamber for the second time. The other eight are all new members. They are Uche Nnam Obi (Ahoada West/Ogba/Egbema/ Ndoni); Jacobson Nbina (Tai/Eleme/Oyibo); Randolph Brown (Bonny/Degema); Boma Goodhead (Akuku-Toru/Asari Toru); Dumna Dekor (Khana/Gokana); and Emekenegwa Sunday (Ikwerre/Emohua).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet