The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Uncertainty trails appointment of UBTH chief medical director



No fewer than 15 applicants have indicated interest in the position of the Chief Medical Director (CMD) of the University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH).

All 15 candidates have passed through the interview process conducted by the Federal Ministry of Health.

However, two of the applicants have withdrawn while two were disqualified from the race due to age factor, leaving 11 men jostling for the position.

The first 11 who were recently interviewed for the position have been having series of meetings with the ministry to ensure their emergence as CMD following intense lobbying and consultations.

The top three and most favoured includes, Dr. Darlington Obaseki, who is the Acting Chief Medical Director of the hospital, following the successful completion of two terms in office and exit of the immediate past CMD, Prof. Michael Ibadin.

Eight professors who made the list of the first eleven are: Prof. Sylvester Idogun, a professor of Chemical Pathology, Prof. Alfred Ogbemudia, an Orthopedic Surgeon, Prof. Clement Osime, Prof. Gabriel Ofouvwe, Prof. Victor Ekanem, Prof. Anthony Okonkwo, Prof. Godwin Bazuaye and Prof. Ernest Omoti, immediate past chairman of the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), Edo state chapter.

Others on the first 11 are, Dr. Casmir Omuemu, Dr. Darlington Obaseki and Dr. Osahon Enabulele, a former President of the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA).

There is, however, high hope among the contestants as it was gathered that the first 11 have distinguished themselves in their various specialties and have a track record of proven integrity in their career.

But for two contestants who were disqualified on their age grounds namely: Prof. Moses Momoh and Prof. M.J.M Waziri Erameh, the battle for the UBTH top position would have been tougher as they forces to reckon with having hailed from Edo North Senatorial District.

The issues of senatorial zone in the appointment of UBTH CMD has continued to attract attention as the agitation for the position from Edo South or Edo North has been the wishes of stakeholders in the hospital, following the exit of two previous CMDs from Edo Central Senatorial District- Professors Eugene Okpere and Michael Ibadin.

There are, however, indications that Obaseki, who emerged first in the interview and two others, have been shortlisted for the job.

“Any of them could be appointed CMD since their names have been sent to the Acting President Yemi Osinbajo for approval by the Minister of Health, Prof. Isaac Adewole,” a source said.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet