Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

2020 Sanlam Award for excellence targets financial journalism


Entries are now open for the 2020 edition of the Sanlam Awards for excellence in financial journalism in Nigeria, others.
Speaking on entries procedures, categories, and requirements, the Divisional Executive Director, Shared Services Division, FBNInsurance Limited, Festus Izevbizua, requested all financial journalists in both print and electronic media in Nigeria to submit entries of their works published or broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2020, on or before February 28, 2021, when the entry closes.
He said that the competition this year saw a re-introduction of two category awards in broadcasting covering two fields: audio (traditional and online radio and podcasts) and television/video.


He said the broadcast categories are open to African financial journalists practicing financial journalism on the continent, noting journalists from outside South Africa can submit their broadcast stories for the Africa Growth Story topic only.
In addition to the African Growth Story, South African audio and TV/Video journalists can submit entries on any of the following topics: Business and companies; Economy; Financial Markets and Consumer Financial Education.
In 2013, Sanlam introduced the Africa Growth Story category, opening the competition to journalists from all African countries.

Entries for this category must focus on the growth of the continent in terms of investment, infrastructure development, economic progress, and related topics. Stories should reflect a continental outlook. Audio and TV/Video journalists based in Africa and whose work is broadcast on the continent are encouraged to submit their entries.


The special awards are Best Newcomer; Lifetime Achievement; and  Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year.
The Special Awards recognise journalists selected at the discretion of the judging panel, following a rigorous nomination and evaluation process.
For over four decades, the awards have been acknowledging the best financial journalism from journalists based in Africa.
The Awards attract widespread interest from journalists across the continent. In 2019, 105 journalists representing 55 media organisations submitted 113 entries. In the Africa Growth Story category, the competition received 32 entries from Botswana, Nigeria, Kenya, Zambia, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania, and South Africa.
Information about the eligibility, criteria, and entry submission process for the awards are available at:

In this article:
2020 Sanlam Award
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet