The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

AABTEAEN elects executives, seeks responsive policies


THE Association of Automobile, Boatyards, Transport Equipment and Allied Employers of Nigeria (AABTEAEN) has elected a new executive committee to run its affairs for the 2015/16 financial year.
The election, which held in Lagos at the weekend during its 35th yearly general meeting (AGM), saw ‘Seyi Onajide of RT Briscoe (Nigeria) Plc and Olivier Levigne of CFAO Motors Nigeria Limited returning unopposed as President and Vice President respectively.
Also elected was Dr. Andrew Dzarma of Mandilas Enterprises Limited who emerged Treasurer following the voluntary resignation of the immediate occupant, Malam Mahmud Othman.
In his acceptance speech, Onajide, while thanking members for reposing confidence in him through the re-election, pledged to take the association to a higher level.
Stating that the outgone year was tough for the group’s businesses owing to insecurity, parlous electricity supply, unfavourable government policies, especially the new national automobile policy among others; the president, however, expressed optimism that things could get better with the incoming General Muhammadu Buhari Administration.
He deplored government’s alleged lukewarm attitude towards the several memoranda and representations from the association relating to a few policies that were unhealthy to the growth of the sector in the period under review.
His words: “Our clear message to government is that the way forward to our myriad of social problems is through creation of an enabling environment that is imperative to sustainable business. It is good business outfits that provide jobs for our teeming youths.”

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet