Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Civil servants’ union urges speedy conclusion of minimum wage talks


•Elects Amaechi new President 

The Nigeria Civil Service Union (NCSU) has urged the tripartite committee on minimum wage to speed up the process of negotiation for the benefit of Nigerian workers. The new President of the union, Lawrence Amaechi, who stated this at the weekend in Abuja after he emerged the new President of the union, said the welfare of members of the union would be his watchword.

His words: “As an affiliate of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), our administration will support and collaborate with Congress and other affiliate unions in all matters affecting Nigerian workers and the masses in general. 

“We are aware that the new National Minimum Wage for Nigerian Workers is long overdue. I therefore, call on the tripartite Committee on Minimum wage to fast track its work in order to put smiles on the faces of the suffering Nigerian workers as justice delayed is justice denied, and so minimum wage delayed is minimum wage denied.”


The delegates went into frenzy when the new NCSU President announced that plans are underway to effect double promotions for all its staffers, and urge them to be alive to their responsibilities. 

“In our determination and commitment to ensure that the welfare of all staff of the union is adequately taken care of and to demonstrate that commitment, all staff on salary grade level 01-13 are hereby given double promotion (i.e. two grade levels), while staff on salary grade level 14-15 are to enjoy automatic promotion to the next level. The effective date of these promotion is 1st March 2018.” 

Amaechi, who was elected for a renewable four years tenure at the 11th national delegates conference, succeeded Kiri Mohammed, was until his election the Chairman of Federal Council of the union. 

Other elected officers of the union at the conference were Oluwale Sunday Adeleye and Jibrin Bameir who emerged Deputy Presidents, while Bawa Ibrahim is new National Treasurer.

Also, Otikwo Habiba was elected Vice President North Central, Galadi IsmailaAbdullahi as Vice President North West, Jerome Ilokwu as Vice President South East, Sa’ad Gaba for North East, Asheolu Ademola for South West and Toki Tony as Vice President South South. The union also elected Matazu Aliyu and Horsfall Peaceman as National Auditors while Egumba Okechukwu became the Trustee. 

In this article:
Lawrence AmaechiNLC
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet