Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Calls for entries for 2018 The Nigeria Prize for Literature and Science competition


Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited, sponsors of The Nigeria Prize for Literature and The Nigeria Prize for Science, has called on writers to entries for the 2018 edition of the two prizes.

The focus for the literature prize in 2018 is Drama while the science prize will be accepting entries on Innovations in Electric Power Solutions. The literature prize rotates among four literary genres- Prose Fiction, Poetry, Drama and Children’s Literature.


The prizes come with a prize cash of $100,000 each.

The literature prize opened on February 13, 2018 and will close on March 29, 2018. The window for the science prize, on the other hand, opened on February 15, 2018 and will close on May 25, 2018.

According to the statement the Manager, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs, Mr. Tony Okonedo, Professor Matthew Umukoro will chair the panel of judges for this year’s Literature prize competition. Umukoro is a professor of Theatre Arts at University of Ibadan. Other members include Mohammed Inuwa Buratai, a professor of Theatre and Performing Arts and Dean, Faculty of Arts, Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, and Dr. (Mrs.) Ngozi Udengwu, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Theatre and Film Studies at University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as IkeoguOke (2017, Poetry) with The Heresiad; Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (2016, Prose) with Season of Crimson Blossoms; Sam Ukala (2014;Drama) with Iredi War; TadeIpadeola (2013; Poetry) with his collection of poems, Sahara Testaments; Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sister’s Street; as well as Adeleke Adeyemi (2011, children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clock.

Others are Esiaba Irobi (2010, drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book, Cemetery Road; Kaine Agary (2008, prose) with Yellow Yellow, Mabel Segun (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre and Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy, Ahmed Yerima (2006, drama) for his classic, Hard Ground, and Gabriel Okara (co-winner, 2005, poetry), Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner, 2005, poetry).

The Nigeria Prize for Science has also been awarded to science laureates such as Professor AkiiIbhadode (2010); the late Professor Andrew Nok (2009); Dr. Ebenezer Meshida (2008); Professor Michael Adikwu (2006); and joint winners Professor AkpovetaSusu and his then doctoral student, Kingsley Abhulimen (2004).

The Nigeria Prize for Literature and The Nigeria Prize for Science are some of Nigeria LNG Limited’s numerous contributions towards building a better Nigeria.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet