The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Goodluck Jonathan Headlines Legends Of Nollywood Awards


Former President Goodluck Jonathan receiving LNA Crest from Zack Orji and Paul Obazele at a previous ceremony

Former President Goodluck Jonathan receiving LNA Crest from Zack Orji and Paul Obazele at a previous ceremony

Former President Dr. Goodluck Jonathan will headline the 2015 edition of the Legends of Nollywood Awards (LNA). The former leader who is a recipient of LNA has confirmed that he would attend the grand award ceremony, which will hold in Benin City on December 12. However, the LNA, which has held yearly since 2012, opens on December 11 and closes the next day with a grand award ceremony.

It was an elated founder of LNA and Chief Executive officer of Royal Pictures Limited Mr. Paul Obazele who conveyed the news of the acceptance of Jonathan to grace the event as Grand Special Guest of Honour. Obazele who had led some members of the board of the award scheme on a courtesy visit on the former president said the organising committee considers the former president’s acceptance to attend the award ceremony as a further reaffirmation of Jonathan’s love for Nollywood which he said the former leader openly expressed while in office.

According to Obazele, “This shows that all his love for Nollywood was not just because he was the president and wanted to identify with a popular Nollywood brand. That he is still receptive to what we do even out of office is enough to tell you that his love for Nollywood which led him to approve the provision of grants to us to better the industry was genuine”.

Also, Obazele, current president, Edo Film Makers Association (EFMA) and former president, Association of Movie Producers (AMP), stated that this year’s edition is planned to be a two-day event, adding, “Apart from rewarding practitioners for their contributions to the growth and development of the vibrant a film industry, the award has from the 2014 edition been refocused to reach out and celebrate the less privileged and physically challenged some of whom do not have the opportunity to relax and watch these television and movie stars we are celebrating as much as they would like to see them”.

He also stated that the award body will be extending a hand of fellowship to the International Christian Center (ICC) Home for the Needy, Uhogua, Edo State that is currently housing the internally displaced persons (IDP’s) in from the north as part of the outreach objectives of the award.

Director of Operations, Legends of Nollywood Awards, Mr. Zack Orji, stated that 28 legends would receive the LNA crest this year. The veteran actor gave the names of the awardees to include Hajiya Latana Ahmed, Bimbo Manuel, Yinka Ogundaisi, Wale Fanu, Tunde Oloyede, Laolu Ogunniyi, John Nwaobi, Dejumo Lewis, Aso Douglas, Sola Fosudo, Zulu Adigwe, Ralph Nwadike, Ramsey Nouah, Opa Williams, Sunday Omobolanle, Ayo Mogaji, Yinka Davies, Sani Muazu, Ngozi Nwosu, Bourdillon Bodio, Chris Obi Rapu, Alhaji Kasimu Yaro, Kunle Bamtefa, Dr. Ola Balogun, Danladi Bako Spacs, Mr. Sunny Irabor, Senator Ben Murray-Bruce and Chief Raymond Dokpesi.

Also, Orji said 10 veterans and outstanding practitioners have been selected by the organizing committee and yearning Nigerians to sign autographs and give out gift items to the less privilege, physically challenged and internally displaced persons that will be invited and that will be attracted to the events. ‘These stars and veterans including Kanayo O. Kanayo, Patience Ozokwor, Ramson Noah, Omotola Jolade, Charles Inojie, Desmond Elliot, John Okafor (Mr. Ibu), Eunice Omoregie and Johnbull Eghiauriwa will also have dinner with the less privilged’’ Orji said.

Established in 2012, the Legends of Nollywood Awards seeks to celebrate the truly memorable and greatest achievements in Nigeria’s motion pictures history. Prince Jide Kosoko, Kunle Bamtefa, Kasumu Yero, Chief Wale Adenuga, Alex Usifo- Umaigbo, Bisi Olatilo, Nkem Owoh, Patience Ozokwo, Mrs. Taiwo Hassan (Mama Awero), Jimi Johnson, Justice Esiri, Femi Robinson, Madam Kofo, Franca Brown, Larry Williams, Zack Orji, Fred Amata, Keppy Ekpenyong-Bassey, Amaka Igwe and Dr. Goodluck Jonathan were past recipients of the award.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet