Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Fela Anikulapo Kuti gets AGSOBA’s highest award


Fela Anikulapo Kuti (AP Photo/Laurent Rebours)

Even in death, the name Fela Anikulapo Kuti has continued to reverberate in all spheres of humanity. And when the Abeokuta Grammar School Old Boys’ Association (AGSOBA) decided to honour the late ‘Abami Eda’, it was surely deserved.

Abeokuta Grammar School is one of the oldest secondary schools in Nigeria. It is indeed the oldest in the then Western region, having been established on July 16, 1908. By virtue of the school’s long history, it has turned out many old students who are all over the world and doing well in their various endeavours.

One of such students was the late music legend and the originator of Afrobeat genre. Fela who attended the school between 1951 and 1956, was honoured, posthumously, with the highest award of ‘Distinguished AGSOBA’ by his alma mater’s Old Boys’ Association – Abeokuta Grammar School Old Boys’ Association (AGSOBA) – which was founded in 1921, 13 years after the establishment of the school.


The award, which was presented by Alaiyeluwa Oba (Dr.) Dapo Tejuoso, Karunwi 111, Oranmiyan, Osile Oke-Ona Egba, the chairman of the occasion and a classmate of the late musical prodigy, was received by another classmate of his, Bashorun ‘Doja Adewolu, the Agoro of Egbaland.

The award ceremony, which held on Saturday, July 20, 2019 at the AGSOBA Hall, Idi-Aba,Abeokuta Ogun State, headlined the 111th Founders’ Day anniversary of the school.

The Alake of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Gbadebo, Okukenu IV, was represented by a high-powered delegation at the occasion. Other dignitaries included the Iyalode of Egbaland, Chief (Mrs) Alaba Lawson as well as the president of the Baptist Boys’ High School, Abeokuta, Old Boys’ Association, Professor Kayode Oyesiku, who was represented by Hon. Justice Olugbenga Ogunfowora.

Earlier in the ceremony, the President General of the association, Lanre Laoshe, had eulogised the virtues, strength and the creativity of the late music giant. He added that the award was conferred on Fela Anikulapo-Kuti in recognition of his contributions to music, culture and the fight against oppression, injustice and bad governance.

Six other old boys were conferred with the association’s highest award of ‘Distinguished Agsoba’ for various contributions to their alma mater. They include, Taiwo Jiboku — a successful commercial farmer; Professor Ayo Ogundele — of both Texas College and the University of Texas, USA; Stephen Adebayo Ajayi — an international businessman; Olawale Oluseyi Akindele —an advertising practitioner; Professor Alabi Sebili Soneye, Dean, Post Graduate School, University of Lagos and AGSOBA’s Secretary General, Ayotunde Okunowo — a prolific writer, author, public speaker and the youngest ever to be conferred with the award.

Another feature of the anniversary was the commissioning, by the President General, Laoshe, various projects executed by a number of AGSOBA branches and clubs.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet