Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

TASPP 2021: Call for entries


It was a modest beginning last year for The Arojah Students Playwriting Prize with Ọjọ́ Miracle Joshua of Obafemi Awolowo University emerging as the pioneer winner of the N100,000 prize money with his play, Justice: A Mirage?

According to a statement issued by Paul Liam, Prize Administrator and Om’Oba Jerry Adesewo, Artistic Director, Arojah Royal Theatre, “the competition are open to all playwrights of Nigerian heritage, who are undergraduates across tertiary institutions — Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges around the world. Submissions for the 2021 edition of the competition are open from March 1 to May 31, 2021.”


The submission guidelines for TASPP 2021 are as follows: “All entries must be submitted within the stipulated deadline. Failure to meet all stated conditions will lead to outright disqualification.”

• Entries must be full-length One-Act Plays, must be an adaptation/transposition of John Pepper Clark’s The Casualties. The competition is in honour of the Nigerian literary icon.

• Entries can be in any form of the playwright’s choice – comedy, parody, monologue, tragedy etc.

• Any play previously performed, published or currently in consideration for other competitions is not qualified to enter for this competition.

• Submission must be in word document sent as an attachment with the subject column reading: TASPP 2021


• Complete contact information, including a full-contact address, email(s), phone number(s) social media handles and a brief (50 word) bio of participating student playwright should accompany each submission, on a separate sheet.

• All submissions should be sent to TASPP@AROJAHTHEATRE.COM on or before May 31, 2021.

• Multiple entries by the same playwright would not be allowed.
Also note that:

A panel of judges for this competition would be announced in due course. The selection of the judges, approved by the Management and Board of Patrons of Arojah Royal Theatre, shall be final.

A longlist of 10 plays would be announced in July 2021. Announcement of winners and award ceremony will hold in September/October 2021.

The winner will clinch a monetary prize of N150,000, a certificate and a medal of honour while the two runners up get N50,000 consolation prizes each with certificates.

The three winning plays will be published in an anthology of new plays.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet