Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

The Arojah Students Playwriting Prize 2020 unveils finalists, holds masterclass


Following up on the long list released on August 1, 2020, the shortlist for the maiden edition of The Arojah Students Playwriting Prize (TAPP 2020) has been released.

In a statement issued by Paul Liam, the prize administrator, the shortlisted writers are (in alphabetical order): Bayowa Ayomide (University of Toronto): Recyclable Chairs; Ojo Joshua Miracle (Obafemi Awolowo University): Justice: A Mirage; Ojo Olumide Emmanuel (ABU Zaria): Headless Sacrifice; Omowunmi Damilola Osuolale (University of Ibadan): A Tale Told by Idiots and Yusuf Abdulkadir (ABU Zaria): The Just Cause.

Winner will be announced in October.


To provide exposure for the shortlisted playwrights, a play reading session will hold on Saturday, September 5, 2020 to enable them engage with the literary community.

“And to further hone their playwriting skill, the top 30 playwrights from this competition will participate in an online playwriting masterclass (Playwriting and Creative Process) with Makinde Adeniran and UK based, Rob Wilson on Saturday, September 19, 2020,” said Liam.

This maiden edition of the prize was adjudicated by the Head of Theatre and Performing Arts, Bayero University, Kano; Ola Ifatimehin, Phd; award winning playwright, literary critic and legal practitioner, Isaac Attah Ogezi and Korean based playwright, scholar and communication consultant, Okeke Izuchukwu Job.

MacArthur Foundation and CITAD support this year’s competition, which focuses on transparency, governance, anti-corruption and culture of accountability. It is endorsed by the National Association of Nigerian Theatre Arts Practitioners (NANTAP) and powered by Arojah Royal Theatre and the International Centre for Creative and Performing Arts (ICCPA).


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet