Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Committee begins review of 120 safety recommendations, implementation by airlines, others


An aviation special committee yesterday began reviewing 120 safety recommendations and their implementation by airlines, regulators and aircraft manufacturers among others. 
The 10-man committee, drawn from the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), Accident Investigation Bureau (AIB) and the Ministry of Transport, is mandated to audit level implementation and impacts so far made on safety.  
The AIB, saddled with investigation of accidents and major incidents, has since 2007 till January 2017 issued 120 safety recommendations from all incidences investigated during the period. 

Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer of AIB, Akin Olateru, yesterday at the inauguration of the review committee in Lagos, said the move, initiated by the Minister of State for Aviation, Hadi Sirika, became necessary in order to enhance safety, especially in relation to recent near-mishap incidences seen in the sector.
Olateru said that safety recommendations are as critical as the investigation itself, as it is the lever used to effect safety changes and improvements in the aviation industry. 
He said:  “While we appreciate that our safety recommendations have recorded positive impacts locally and globally, we found it imperative to holistically review the effectiveness of all the recommendations with a view to enhancing aviation safety to the benefits of all air travellers.
“It is with this background that AIB decided to review our recommendations from inception totaling 120 and measure the level of their effectiveness,” he said.
Among the 10-man committee are Olateru; Charles Erhueh Irikefe (AIB); Sadik Abdulsalam Abunaka (AIB); Roland Nwaohiri (AIB); Iteke Ifeanyi (NCAA); Capt. J.O. Vincent (NCAA); S. Aminu (NCAA) and Awogbami Clemet (ministry).
To ensure a balance and objectivity, Sirika has approved the inclusion of experienced industry experts as consultants to the committee. They are Capt Kiddie Dare and Gbolahan Abatan, an engineer.The committee, in 30 days, is to return its findings to AIB for onward transmission to the Ministry of State for Aviation for the benefits of the industry.

Akinteru added that the responsibility for enforcing safety recommendations lies with NCAA and “this may explain why there are four nominees on this committee from the agency. This exercise is therefore to complement their efforts and enhance the industry’s capacity to improve safety,” he said.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet