Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NECO, others seek more support for mathematics education


The National Examination Council (NECO) as well as other stakeholders in the education sector have called on good-spirited Nigerians, corporate organisations and multinationals to create programmes that will stimulate students interest in mathematics education, owing to the important role the subject plays in national development.

Acting Registrar, NECO, Mr. Abubakar Gana, who spoke at the grand finale of the “2019 cowbellpedia secondary schools mathematics television quiz show,” explained that since Mathematics is central to human and national development, the subject deserves all the support from public and private organisations.

Gana, represented by Mr. Stephen Adebunmi, noted that mathematics is not only critical in innovating new ideas that change the world, it also helps learners to be analytical in thinking and reasoning.


He said the competition has a bundle of transparent engines and modalities that identify and nurture geniuses in the field of mathematics.

He commended the firm for providing an excellent platform that showcased the talent in the young Nigerian mathematicians and future inventors.

Meanwhile, pupils of The Scholars Universal Secondary School, Ota, Ogun State and Zionfield Pinnacle School, Ikorodu, Lagos State, Michael Enehizena and Oghenero Ologe, emerged the overall winners in the junior and senior category respectively, in this edition.

The two champions got N2 million each and an all-expense paid education excursion outside the country.

In the junior category, Abdul-Quayum Alli of Ota Total Academy, Ogun State, and David Charles of Graceland International Secondary, School, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, came second and third respectively.

While Akinyemi Dabira of The Ambassadors College, Ota, Ogun State and Hezekiah Olabisi of Bibo Oluwa Academy, Ilesha, Osun emerged as first and second runner-up respectively in the senior category.

The first and second runners-up in each category received N1.5 million and N1 million respectively, while the teachers of the top prizewinners were awarded N500, 000. Those of the first and second runners-up received N400, 000 and N300, 000 respectively.

In this article:
Abubakar GanaNECO
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet