Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

University of Ibadan hosts ACSPN history series today


University of Ibadan

The University of Ibadan, through the Department of Communication and Language Arts, is set to host the first edition of Association of Communication Scholars and Professionals of Nigeria (ACSPN) History Series organised by the South West Zone of ACSPN.

The History Series is a collaboration between ACSPN and the Diamond Awards for Media Excellence (DAME).            
This 1st edition of the South West Zone would be the sixth edition of the ACSPN History Series (AHS), since the launch of the Series.                        
Themed, ‘Reminiscences of Western Nigeria Television 60 Years After’, the guest speaker is Dr. Akinyemi Bamidele Farounbi.                                     

The event, which holds today at Room 32, Faculty of Arts, University of Ibadan, Oyo State, starts at 11:00 am. The chief host is Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka, Vice-Chancellor, University of Ibadan, while Prof. Demola Omobewaji Dasylva, Dean, Faculty of Arts, University of Ibadan and Prof. Ayobami Ojebode, Head, Department of Communication and Language Arts, University of Ibadan are hosts. Chairman is Oloye ‘Lekan Alabi, Agba Akin Olubadan of Ibadanland. The event’s chief convener is WNTV Alumni Association.    

Farounbi was General Manager, first at NTA Ibadan from 1977 (and later NTA Akure from 1981), Chairman, Broadcasting Corporation of Oyo State (BCOS) from 1981-1983, and established what is now called BCOS TV, Chairman of Daily Times of Nigeria 2002-2004, and former Chairman, Osun State Broadcasting Corporation (OSBC).. He was Nigeria’s Ambassador to the Philippines.  

The ACSPN History Series seeks to fill a critical gap in the fundamentally eroded space of history in Nigeria’s educational system through reliving the experiences of the select team of those who have played key roles in communication, media, and journalism history in Nigeria.                            
The five previous editions featuring Prince Henry Odukomaiya (Journalism), former Managing Director, Daily Times, former Ogun State Governor Olusegun Osoba (Journalism), former Director-General, Nigerian Television Authority Mr Vincent Maduka (Broadcasting), and Sir Steve Omojafor (Advertising),, Executive Chairman, STB-McCann, and Mr Yomi Badejo-Okusanya (Public Relations), President, African Public Relations Association (APRA) & Group Managing Director, CMC Connect (Perception Managers), were memorable.      
This edition will further unveil the Western Nigeria Television (WNTV), Africa’s very first TV station, as part of the history of an icon of broadcasting.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet