Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

Pusha T’s “Daytona” Album Cover Art Is Whitney Houston Drug-Filled Bathroom

Pusha T’s cover for his new album has come under public scrutiny. The picture is a 2006 image of Whitney Hoston’s bathroom when she was fighting drugs addiction.

In an interview with radio host, Angie Martinez on The Angie Martinez Show, he said that the picture was not the original album art for his album. He also said that Kanye West is responsible for the change.


According to him, West called around 1 am to tell him that he no longer found the original cover symbolic enough. The new picture would cost them 8$5,000 for the license of the picture, an amount West paid.

He said,

“He changed my artwork last night at 1 a.m. He wasn’t feeling it … The artwork, it was pictures that we all agreed on. He picked this photographer. I took these pictures. I was like, ‘Yo, these are fresh.’ We picked all of these pictures out. He had a little edit to it of how he wanted the actual grading of the picture to look. Picked the picture, we love it. Boom, boom, it’s good!”

“1 a.m. my phone rings. No caller ID. ‘Yo!’ ‘Hey yeah, I think we should change the artwork. I like this other artwork.’ Now, this is other artwork is $85,000. I said, ‘Hey, I don’t wanna pay for that, and I wasn’t even gonna ask you to pay for that. We picked what we picked. It’s here. It’s ready!’ ‘No, this what people need to see to go along with this music. I’ma pay for that.”

The controversial picture was released after her death in 2012.

Likewise, the album was initially titled King Push but had its name changed to Daytona. He explains the reason for the change in a tweet

“I changed the album title from ‘King Push’ to ‘DAYTONA’ because I felt it didn’t represent the overall message of this body of work,” Push explained in a tweet, adding that “DAYTONA represents the fact that I have the luxury of time. That luxury only comes when u have a skill set that you’re confident in.”

The album is a seven-track album which he promises “comes from a real place every time…”.

See the tracklist below:

  1. If You Know You Know
  2. The Games We Play
  3. Hard Piano feat. Rick Ross
  4. Come Back Baby
  5. Santeria
  6. What Would Meek Do? feat. Kanye West
  7. Infrared

And if you were thinking about the Meek track? Meek Mill didn’t feature in it.

Listen to the album here

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421