Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

Nomination Opens For The Headies 2019

Davido performing at The Headies

Nigeria’s biggest and most prestigious music award show, The Headies, has opened its doors to receive entries for its 13th music award with this year’s edition themed The Power of A Dream.

According to the organizers, only musical works released between January 2018 and June 2019 will be eligible for submission this year and stand a chance to be nominated for the annual award.

Running for over a decade, the 13th Headies award will feature 29 unique categories in recognition of Africa’s finest artistes. This includes; Best Recording of the Year; Best Pop Single; Producer of The Year; Best Reggae/ Dancehall Single; Best Rap Album; Best R&B/ Pop Album; Alternative Album; Best R&B Single; Best Collabo; Best Rap Single; Best Vocal Performance (Male); Best Vocal Performance (Female); Next Rate; Hip Hop World Revelation; and Lyricist on The Roll.

Others are the Best Street-Hop Artiste; Best ‘Alternative’ Song; Album of The Year; Artiste of The Year; Song of The Year; African Artiste Recognition; Headies’ Viewer’s Choice; Industry Brand Supporter; Best Performer; Songwriter of The Year; Rookie of The Year; Special Recognition; Hall of Fame.


Last year’s edition saw Nigeria’s sensational artiste, Olamide, with the highest number of nominations (10), closely followed by Tuface (7), Wizkid (6), Davido (4), and Clarence Peters (4). Registration for this year’s entry closes by midnight September 24t, 2019.

The Headies (originally called the Hip Hop World Awards) is a music awards show established in 2006 by the Hip Hop World Magazine of Nigeria to recognize outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry. The yearly ceremony features performances by established and promising artists. It is broadcast live on HipTV to television viewers across Nigeria.

The 1st and 2nd editions of The Headies were held at the Muson Center in Onikan, Lagos State. Between 2010 and 2012, the awards were held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos. Several media personalities in Nigeria have hosted the annual ceremony, including Darey Art Alade, D’banj, Dakore Egbuson, Banky W., Rita Dominic, M.I, Tiwa Savage and Dr SID.

The image of The Headies was created by Ayo Animashaun the founder of the awards, and drawn by Matthias Aragbada, while the first Headie plaque was done by Jide Adewoye.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421