The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

11 retain seats in Ogun legislature


Ogun State House of Assembly- image source ogtv

Ogun State House of Assembly- image source ogtv

Eleven out of 26 legislators retained their seats to begin the 8th Ogun State House of Assembly in 2015, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), reports.

Out of the six principal officers in the legislature, the Speaker, Mr Suraj Adekunbi, the Majority Leader, Mr Isreal Jolaosho and the Whip, Mr Oludotun Fasanya would be returning.

The Deputy Speaker, Mr Tola Banjo, who contested under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), lost to Mr Wale Alausa of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP-Ijebu Ode).

The other principal officers who would not be part of the eight legislature are Mr Job Akintan (Minority Leader) and Mr Samuel Solarin (Chief Whip).

Akintan, (PDP), who represented Yewa North Constituency 11, did not contest during the primaries.

He would be replaced by Mr Razak Oduntan, also of the PDP.

Solarin, who participated in the April 11 elections, was defeated by the PDP’s candidate, Oluwasesan Soyebo, in Sagamu Constituency II.

Others who will not return to the Ogun Assembly are Mr Joseph Adegbesan (Labour Party), Ijebu North constituency I and Mrs Adijat Adeleye-Oladapo (PDP), Ifo II Constituency.

They contested for the House of Representatives but lost. They would be replaced by Messers Dare Kadiri (APC), and Ganiyu Oyedeji (APC).

Mr Remmy Hazzan (PDP-Odogbolu), Mr Obafemi John (PDP-Remo North), Mr Abiodun Akovoyon (PDP-Ipokia/Idiroko), Mr Adeleke Salmon (PDP-Imeko Afon), Mrs Elizabeth Anifowoshe (SDP-Obafemi Owode), among others, will not return.

NAN reports that the 8th legislature would have two women: Mrs Yetunde Sogbein (APC-Odeda), and Mrs Akintayo Folakemi (APC-Yewa South),

The legislature would have 17 APC and nine PDP members.

Mr Olufemi Allen-Taylor (SDP), Abeokuta South II Constituency, Mr Oludaisi Elemide (SDP), Odeda Constituency and Babatunde Edunjobi (APC), Yewa South Constituency. Mr Adegboyega Olowo-Oloja (PDP), Ijebu East Constituency and Mr Samson Onademuren (PDP), Ijebu North East Constituency would also not be returning.

NAN reports that the eight legislature would have two women out of the 26 lawmakers just like the seventh legislature that had two.

The two women were Mrs Yetunde Sogbein (APC), Odeda Constituency and Mrs Akintayo Folakemi (APC), Yewa South constituency.

The eight legislature of the assembly would have 17 APC legislators and nine members for the PDP.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet