The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ajimobi loses as Buhari defeats Atiku in Kano, others


Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State

As results of the Presidential and National Assembly polls emerge, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won some National Assembly seats in Kano, Yobe, Gombe, Taraba and Kebbi states.

In Kano, President Muhammad Buhari defeated former Vice president Atiku Abubakar as he swept majority votes in 42 local government areas while results of Dala and Rogo local government areas were being awaited as at press time.

Chairman, Senate Committee on Works, Kabiru Gaya beat Abdullahi Sani Togo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to reclaim Kano South Senatorial seat.

Gaya polled 319,004 votes to defeat PDP’s candidate, who scored 217,520 votes, while candidate of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Yahaya Bala Karaye scored 30,013 votes.


In Kano North Senatorial district, Barau Jibrin won with 286,419 votes to beat Ali Garba Bichi of the PDP who polled 155,638 votes, while results for Kano Central Senatorial district were being awaited as at press time.

But former Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau, was in early lead in five of 15 local government areas of the district.

However, Deputy Senate Leader, Bala Ibn Na’Allah has been declared winner in Kebbi South Senatorial district.

Declaring the results yesterday at the Zuru collation centre, Returning Officer, Professor Ibrahim Mohammed said N’Allah scored 136,287 votes to beat PDP’s Benjamin Dikki, who scored 62,733 votes.

But in Oyo State, Governor Abiola Ajimobi’s bid to return to the Senate was truncated, having lost to PDP candidate, Dr. Kola Balogun.

Ajimobi, who contested the Oyo South Senatorial district, polled 92, 579, while Balogun scored 105,720 votes.

APC’s candidate for Yobe South Senatorial district, Ibrahim Bomai won the election with 118,729 votes.

Announcing the results in Potiskum, INEC’s Zonal Returning Officer, Professor Henry Oware, said the results were collated from the various councils in the senatorial district.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet