The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ajimobi loses four of nine LGs in Oyo South


[File] The Governor of the host state, Abiola Ajimobi

The All Progressives Congress candidate for the Oyo South Senatorial District, Governor Abiola Ajimobi, has lost four of the nine local governments in the district.

Ajimobi is seeking a return to the Red Chamber after serving two terms as the governor of the state.

In Ibadan Northwest local government, Ajimobi had 8,916 votes, while the People’s Democratic Party candidate Kola Balogun scored 12,144 votes.

In Ibarapa North and Ibarapa East local governments APC polled 5,837 and 6,951 votes respectively while PDP’s scored 8,083 and 9,982.


In Ibadan North local government APC had 17,946 votes as against the PDP’s 18,690 votes.

However, in Ibadan North, according to the Returning Officer of the senatorial district, Wole Akinsola, results of three polling units are missing. They are PU 001 in Ward 008 and Agbowo Ward (Ward 012) in PU 025. In the latter, security operatives were said to be interrogating the officials involved.

The other polling unit is Unit 019 on Taiwo street in Sango area of Ibadan. The presiding officer of the PU was said to have absconded.

Collation of results from other local governments was still ongoing at the time of this report. Official senatorial results for four of the nine local governments in Oyo South Senatorial District have been announced.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet