The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Amosun inaugurates 57 council, LCDA chairmen


Amosun-Ogun-Governor-ibikunleOgun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun has inaugurated the newly-elected 57 chairmen of local councils and local council development areas (LCDAs).The state’s Chief Judge, Justice Tokunbo Olopade, administered the oath of allegiance and oath of office at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto, Abeokuta, the capital.

The governor charged the chairmen to be accountable and transparent in discharging their responsibilities. He urged them to use their offices for service to the state and the people and not to settle political scores with their enemies.

He said government would not condone any form of illegality that would shortchange the people.Amosun appealed to the council bosses to love and embrace everyone despite their political differences and affiliations, while striving to bring development to their areas despite the economic challenge.

He said: “Your election is a call to service, call to serve the people of the state and not a position to settle political scores.”

“We are going to support you to ensure we realise all our five cardinal points. I am happy with the qualities of you people, we have lawyers and all of you are professionals. Don’t look at the position as a small place. If you work hard, there is no place you cannot get to. You should be determined to be the best.”

Chairman of Odogbolu Local Council, Mr. Olawale Shittu, who spoke on behalf of others, assured the governor that they would be agents of development in the state.

Shittu, who promised they would support the government to fully achieve the rebuilding mission of the present administration, said they would not disappoint those who voted for them but rather bring the dividends of democracy to them.

The chairmen were elected on Saturday, October 8, 2016 and declared winner by the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) on Sunday, October 9.

Among dignitaries that graced the occasion were Deputy Governor, Mrs. Yetunde Onanuga; wife of the state governor, Mrs. Olufunso Amosun; Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Suraj Ishola Adekunbi; Alake of Egbaland, Oba Aremu Adedotun Gbadebo and other top government functionaries as well as traditional rulers and politicians.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet