Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Anambra 2021: Senator Emerges flag bearer as PDP factions hold parallel primaries


PDP Flag

Chief Ugochukwu Uba, yesterday, won the Anambra State Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) primaries for the November 6 governorship election organised by the Chief Chukwudi Umeaba led faction.

The election, which held at Paul University Complex, Awka saw Uba winning with 275 votes from the 665 votes cast to become the flag bearer of the faction. Chief Godwin Ezeemo followed with 114 votes; Sen. Uche Ekwunife was third with 56 votes while Dr Obiora Okonkwo scored 44 votes.


Chairman, PDP electoral panel, Obidi Ebede, announced other results as follows: Dr Godwin Maduka 22 votes; Mr Jonny Maduafokwa 27 and Chief Walter Okeke 42 votes.

In his acceptance speech, Uba promised to restore PDP to its pride of place in Anambra politics after 16 years of being in the doldrums.

He said, “If elected governor on November 6, I would address the leadership challenges of the party including local government system”.


He commended the party leadership, faithful, and delegates for deeming it worthy to make him the party flag bearer. Uba was a member of the senate between 2003 and 2007.

While the Ndubuisi Nwobu led faction held its primary at the Prof Dora Akunyili Women’s Development Centre, Awka; the Chukwudi Umeaba led faction loyal to Chief Chris Uba held its primary at Paul University playground, Awka.  

Meanwhile, Philip Shuaibu, Deputy Governor of Edo State and Secretary to Anambra Primary Election Committee, earlier at a press conference, at the Prof. Dora Akunyili Women Development Centre, Awka, called for orderliness.


He disclosed that three aspirants including Emeka Etiaba, Tony Nwoye had stepped down voluntarily and ready to support whoever emerges as the PDP candidate for the November 6, governorship election in the state.

Shuaibu assured that the committee would conduct a free, fair, and credible primary, adding that all the aspirants have agreed to accept the outcome of the primary. He added that of the 230 super delegates expected less than 200 were accredited. 

PDP Anambra State governorship aspirants are Senator Uche Ekwunife, Dr Obiora Okonkwo, Chris Azugbogu, Winston Udeh, Mr. Valentine Ozigbo, Mr. Godwin Ezeemo, Mrs. Chidi Onyemelukwe, Dr Ifedi Okwena, Mr. Walter Ubaka, and Mr. Tony Nwoye.

Others are Mr. Emeka Etiaba, Mr. Godwin Maduka, Mrs. Ekwochi Genevieve, Mr. Ugochukwu Uba, Nzeribe Chukwumaeze and Chief Maduafokwa Olisakwe.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet