Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

APC targets Bayelsa senatorial seats, sets up reconciliation panel


The All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday announced its intention to win the two vacant senatorial seats in Bayelsa State to remain relevant in the South South.

The seats became vacant following the election of the former occupants Douye Diri (Bayelsa West) and Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo (Bayelsa Central) as governor and deputy governor respectively.

The immediate past governor of the state, Seriake Dickson, will represent the ruling Peoples Democratic Party in the Bayelsa West bye-election while Pastor Moses Cleopas will stand for election in the Central version of the October 31 exercise.

The APC will field Peremobowei Ebebi for the Bayelsa West and Abel Ebifemowei for Bayelsa Central.


Speaking after his inauguration as Chairman of the 11-man Reconciliatory/Election Committee for the bye-elections in Abuja, Governor Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State lamented the party’s loss of Edo State in the September 19 governorship poll.

However, he assured the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party that the committee would ensure victory for the APC in the senatorial polls.

“We have learnt our lesson, a lesson that encourages staying together and creating platforms for reconciliation. Politics is about managing relationships with a group of people that have common interest,” the governor said.

Inuwa sought the support of the NWC, saying the party needed to consolidate its position at national and sub-national levels.

The Chairman of the APC Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Committee and Governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni, who performed the inauguration at the party’s National Secretariat, told the committee to ensure unity in the party in Bayelsa.

Represented by the National Secretary of the Caretaker committee, Senator John Akpanugedehe, Buni told Inuwa and his members to deliver Bayelsa Central and West to the APC to have more support in the National Assembly for President Muhammadu Buhari.

Other members of the committee are Senator Ovie Omo-Agege (Vice Chairman), Senator Abdullahi Sahabi, Senator Ali Ndume, Senator Uba Sani, Ambassador Fatima Goni and Sen. Chris Adegije.

Others are Yusuf Ocholi, Chief Enyi Enyi, Pearl Inwang and Ekemini Udoh (Secretary).


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet