Tuesday, 29th November 2022
<To guardian.ng
Breaking News:

Ayi, Mbora win Cross River PDP House of Reps primary

By Tina Agosi Todo, Calabar
24 May 2022   |   3:20 am
Member representing Akpabuyo/Bakassi/Calabar South Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Essien Ayi, has, for the sixth time, emerged the winner of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the just concluded primaries.

Member representing Akpabuyo/Bakassi/Calabar South Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Essien Ayi, has, for the sixth time, emerged the winner of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the just concluded primaries.

He won with 57 votes, while Mrs. Imana Duke scored 23 votes, Mr. Dominic Aqua 16 votes and Mr. Steven Ekpe three votes.

Announcing the result about 9.30 p.m. on Sunday, the Returning officer, Mr. Asuquo Ekpo, said 99 delegates voted in the primary.

“By this tabulation, we declare that Hon. Essien Ayi is the winner of the Akpabuyo/Bakassi/Calabar South Federal Constituency primary. He scored 57 votes, while Mrs. Imana scored 23 votes and Dominic Aqua, 16 votes, and Steven Ekpo scored three votes,” the returning officer declared.

Ayi, who described the process as free and fair, said: “I witnessed a very transparent exercise. I have not seen anybody protesting, it was very transparent and there was no foul play at all. As expected, I knew I was going to win because I know that the people are with me. I won squarely and I am thankful to God.”

Imana took her loss in good faith, saying the process was transparent. He however complained about delegates taking pictures while voting to show to their preferred aspirants.

She said in as much as the exercise was transparent, the Nigeria voting system still has a long way to go in educating the voting public.

Also in Odukpani, the member representing Odukpani/Calabar Municipal Federal House of Representatives, Mr. Eta Mbora won the PDP ticket again.

He was declared winner after polling a total of 56 votes, while his closest, Mr. Esuabanga Asuquo, polled 14 votes.

Earlier, the Chairman of the party, Mr. Venatus Ikem, assured party members of a free and fair election across the state despite late arrival of materials.