Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ayu, Tinubu, Soyinka, Falana, Onanuga, Igiebor, Zwingina, Obe, others to attend Abiola’s award ceremony 


FILES, NIGERIA – JUNE 11: Nigerian main opposition leader and presidential candidate Moshood Abiola votes in Lagos in a 12 June 1993 file photo. Abiola, the presumed winner of the elections, was placed under house arrest by police 11 June, one day before setting up a government of national unity. The 1993 vote was annulled by then military leader Gen. Ibrahim Babangida. PHOTO: FRANCOIS ROJON/AFP/Getty Images)

The Federal government has invited key players in the June 12, 1993 struggle to witness the conferment of posthumous national honours on the presumed winner of the election, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Abiola, frontline activist, Chief Gani Fawehinmi and the decoration of Ambassador Babagana Kingibe.

President Buhari on Wednesday declared that the late Abiola won the 1993 Presidential elections, but was denied the presidency by the then Head of State, Gen Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida.

He directed that effective from next year, Nigerian Democracy Day, marked every May 29 for the past 18 years be shifted to June 12, as a mark of honour to the late philanthropist.


President Buhari explained that the change in the date is to honor Chief Moshood Kashimawo Abiola, who won a presidential election but was prevented from taking office when the results were annulled. The late Abiola died while struggling to actualize the mandate.

President Buhari said, the late MKO Abiola will be conferred with the nation’s highest honor, GCFR exclusively conferred on the holders of the highest office in the country.

In the same vein, Chief Abiola’s running mate in that election, Ambassador Kingibe, is to be conferred with the second highest honour, GCON.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet