Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Bayelsa governor swears in commissioner six months after inauguaration


Bayelsa State Governor Douye Diri on Tuesday sworn in 24 commissioners after six months after he was sworn in as state governor.

The State House of Assembly last Tuesday screened and confirmed a list of 24 nominees as commissioners-designate from the governor.

Three nominees were picked from Brass Council, Ekeremor, Nembe, Yenagoa, former President Goodluck Jonathan’s Ogbia, and former Governor Seriake Dickson’s Sagbama.

However, four of the nominees came from Southern Ijaw and two from Diri’s Kolokuma/Opokuma Council.

The commissioners, comprising mainly unknown names, include Preye Brodrick, Grace Ekiotene, Faith Orubo, Opueme, Esau Andrew, Mr. Ibiere Jones, Chief Thompson Amule, Stanley Braboke, Moses Teibowei, Mr. Iselema Gbaranbiri, Chief David Alagoa, Mr. Dambo Birigha (SAN), Dr. Iti Orugbani and Dr. Promise Ekio.

Others are Mr. Otokito Federal, Mr. Obosi Churson, Mr. Seikumo Ekisah, Maxwell Ebibai, Mr. Akpoebidei Alamieyeseigha, Rex George, Mr. Baraladei Igali, Mr. Ebitein Tonyon, Dr. Igwele Newton, Mr. Ayebaina Duba and Mr. Gentle Emelah.

Former governor Dickson called for sustained support for governor Diri to enable him to deliver effectively on his electoral promise of prosperity to the people.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet