Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Dare hails players union as Babangida becomes unified president


Youth and Sports Development Minister, Sunday Dare, has congratulated the Professional Players Union of Nigeria (PPUN) for its peaceful general elections that brought in former Super Eagles star, Tijjani Babangida as the unified body’s president.

The players union was enmeshed in a leadership crisis that led to the factionalistion of the body for over 10 years. But peace has returned to the body with the general elections that brought a new leadership led by Babangida.

The new board of the union was formally inaugurated on Saturday in Lagos.Also in the new executive commitee are Clement Temile (first vice president), Victor Ikpeba (second vice president), and Emmanuel Babayaro as secretary.


A congratulatory message sent to the union by the minister’s media office, reads, “This is a confirmation of the organisational ability and cohesion among the players.
“You are worthy partners in the concerted efforts to deepen the development of Nigerian Football. The unity of leadership is important for the task of ensuring players’ welfare and protecting their rights. Without unity among the players, there can be no development. 

“I encourage the new leadership to work with a vision that would impact the growth of Nigerian Football.”

Other board members of the new body are Deputy General, Secretary, Fuludu Edema; Treasurer, Princewill Gbogbodu;
Players Union representatives, Golbe Elisha and Joy Jerry.

Elected as Players Union Commissioners are Margaji Abdul, Danlami Heyman, Abdul Sule, Musa Santos, Auwalu Jeda, Ikechukwu Enwezor, Kenneth Nwaomucha, Samson Ozogula, Mutiu Adepoju and Waidi Akanni.

Tajudeen Disu and Jumbo Awala were inaugurated as welfare officers, while Joshua Kator and Seyi Olofinjana became players’ ambassadors (Europe).Emeka Ezeugo and Taribo West are the new players’ ambassadors for Americas and Africa respectively, while Chikelue Iloenyosi and Samuel Prone are Auditor 1 and Auditor 2 respectively.

Peter Chukwuemeka is the new assistant general secretary (technical), David Aigbovo will serve as the operations secretary. Stephen Cole (youth development secretary), Tony Adiele (special duties), and Danladi Musa (Communications) are also members of the new executive committee.

The legal team comprises Lawal Audu Mohammed, Nixon Igwe, Felix Eshalomi and Chief Rumson Baribote. In the board of trustees are Harrison Jalla (Chairman), Segun Odegbami, Adokie Amiesimeka, Ismaila Mabo, Tijani Babangida, Austin Popo, Dahiru Sadi, Tajudeen Ajide and Jibo Bello.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet