Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Edo trains 78 cash transfer facilitators for NCT scheme


10,705 vulnerable households enrolled
Seventy-eight local council Cash Transfer Facilitators (CTF) have been trained on Savings and Group Mobilisation (SGM) for the National Cash Transfer (NCT) programme in Edo State.

Also, about 10,705 poor and vulnerable households have so far been enrolled to benefit from the programme.

The NCT scheme is one of the five components of the National Social Investments Programmes (NSIP) to eradicate poverty in the country by ensuring a more equitable distribution of resources to vulnerable populations.

Training officer from the National Cash Transfer Office (NCTO), Abuja, Solomon Kola, told newsmen in Benin City that the training was conducted by the NCTO in collaboration with the cash transfer unit in the state.

According to Kola, the training aims to improve beneficiaries’ knowledge and skills in savings and mobilisation as well as group formation and management.


He added that the facilitators, after training, would go to their various wards and train beneficiaries of the NCT programme.

“The cash transfer programme is also known as household uplifting programme because it is targeted at the poor and vulnerable in the country.

“The criteria for selecting beneficiaries is dependent on community leaders who identify the poorest among them after which a monthly stipend of N5,000 is disbursed to them to enhance their standard of living,” he said.

Kola, who explained that the beneficiaries would receive the monthly stipends for three years, said that the Federal Government also provided capacity building for them within the period.

About 26 states are participating in the programme, he noted.

Head of the cash transfer unit in Edo, Sunday Erhunmwonsere, said despite that 10,705 vulnerable households had been captured, enrolment was still ongoing.

Erhunmwonsere noted that conditional cash transfer to enrolled beneficiaries would commence as soon as all necessary processes were completed.

Six councils in the state – Oredo, Igueben, Owan East, Ovia South-West, Estako Central and Esan West – were selected to participate in the pilot stage of the programme in Edo.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet