The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ekiti government to verify workers on its payroll, pay April salary on Wednesday


Gov Fayose

Gov Fayose

Ekiti state government is to begin verification of the 48,977 workers in the state public service on Tuesday while workers will wait till Wednesday for their April salary to be paid.

In a statement yesterday, the state government said the exercise would last till next Monday during which the workers will start receiving their April salary.

The statement signed by the Special Assistant to the governor on Public Communications and New Media, Lere Olayinka explained the verification exercise was aimed at blocking close to N500 million being lost to ghost workers monthly through the e-payment system contracted to a private company by the immediate past administration in the state.

The governor’s aide disclosed that salary of April will be paid as workers are verified, adding that; “Those insinuating that the verification exercise was meant to delay payment of April salary are just playing cheap politics because the arrangement is such that; the moment verification is concluded on daily basis, salary of those cleared will be paid.

“The implication of this is that those verified on Tuesday, May 12 will receive their April salary on Wednesday, May 13 while those verified on Wednesday will get paid on Thursday. By Friday, May 14, seventy percent of the workers would have received their April salary

“From Tuesday to Wednesday, staff of core Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), Health Management Board (HMB) and six local councils will be verified at designated venues.

“The six local councils to be verified on Tuesday and Wednesday are Ado, Efon, Ekiti East, Ekiti South West, Moba and Oye while staff of
Ise/Orun, Ikere, Emure, Ekiti West, Ido/Osi, Ikole, Ilejemeje and Irepodun/Ifelodun, Gbonyin and Ijero will be verified on Thursday and Friday.

“Also on Thursday and Friday, staff of Local Government Training School, Local Government Service Commission, Loans Board and Pension Board, as well as primary school teachers in Ado, Efon, Ekiti East, Ekiti South West, Ekiti West, Emure, Gbonyin, Ido/Osi local councils and State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) Local Government Education Authority (LGEA) Headquarter will be verified.

“Primary school teachers in Ijero, Ikere, Ikole, Ilejemeje,Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ise/Orun, Moba and Oye local governments, as well
as all secondary school teachers in the State will be verified on Saturday, May 16 and Monday, May 18.”, he said

Speaking further, the governor’s aide disclosed that verification of local councils staff will be done at their councils headquarters,those under LGEA (SUBEB) will be verified at their respective LGEA headquarters while secondary school teachers will assemble at designated schools in their respective local governments for the exercice.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

1 Comment
  • amador kester

    To preempt the ghsts that wk by day and that ate up the money?