Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ekiti govt plans to create 19 LCDAs, grant judicial autonomy



Fayemi forwards bills to House of Assembly
Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, yesterday, forwarded bills seeking to create 19 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) out of the existing 16 local councils in the state and granting judicial autonomy to the state House of Assembly for legislative action.

Fayemi, in a statement signed by the state Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Wale Fapounda, explained that the Bills are the ‘Ekiti State Judiciary (Funds Management) Bill, 2021 and the Creation of Local Governments Bill, 2021.

“The Judiciary (Funds Management) Bill is for a law to provide for the management of funds of the Ekiti State Judiciary and the repeal of the Ekiti State Fiscal Autonomy for the Judicial Arm of Government Law, No 8 of 2008 and for other related matters.”


Fapounda said that the state government proposed the judicial bill “in furtherance of the Memorandum of Action on the implementation of the financial autonomy for the state judiciary, which was jointly signed by the Nigeria Governors’ Forum and the National Judicial Council (NJC), among others, on May 20, 2021.”

He added that the purpose of the bill is “to grant Ekiti State judiciary the power to manage its capital and recurrent expenditure in accordance with the provision of Sections 6 (5)(a)-(I), 81(3), 121(3) and Item 21 (e) of the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Nigeria 1999 (as amended) and other relevant laws.

“The bill further affirms the severally stated commitment of the Fayemi administration to an independent judiciary that is professional, effective, and responsive to the needs of all users, including where appropriate, the provision of informal dispute resolution mechanisms.

The second bill, which is the Creation of Local Government Bill, 2021, according to the attorney-general, is a bill for a law to provide for the creation of new local councils in Ekiti State and for other related matters.

“The bill seeks to create 19 new local councils in addition to the existing 16 councils in the state as specified in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).

The new 19 LCDAs are Ado Central LCDA, Ado North LCDA, Ado West LCDA, Ajoni LCDA, Araromi LCDA and Ekameta LCDA.

Others are the Ekiti South East LCDA, Ero LCDA, Gbonyin LCDA, Ifedara LCDA, Ifeloju LCDA, Ifesowopo LCDA, Igbara-Odo/Ogotun LCDA, Ikere West LCDA, Ikole West LCDA, Irede LCDA, Irewolede LCDA, Isokan LCDA and Okemesi/Ido-Ile LCDA.


In this article:
Ekiti StateKayode Fayemi
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet