Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

House of assembly speakers, others emerge in states


Edo Assembly

• Police take over Edo chamber premises
Ahead of inauguration of states Houses of Assembly today, speakers, deputy speakers and other principal officers of the states legislatures emerged across the country yesterday.

In Katsina State, Tasiu Musa Maigari (APC, Zango Constituency) was elected as the new Speaker for the seventh Katsina State House of Assembly, while Shehu Dalhatu Tafoki (APC Faskari) emerged Deputy Speaker.

Tafoki was also Deputy Speaker during the sixth assembly. Clerk of the House, Musa Umar Bakori, who presided over sitting in which 34 lawmakers voted, announced the principal officers.

In Enugu State, members of the House of Assembly reelected former Speaker, Edward Uchenna Ubosi (Enugu East Urban Constituency) to pilot the affairs of the seventh assembly.


Ubosi, who is serving his third term in the House, was first elected to the Assembly in 2011, while a first timer in the House, Uche Ugwu (Udi North Constituency), was elected Deputy Speaker to replace Dons Uzogbado (Oji River Constituency).

Other returning members are, Melitus Ikechukwu Ezeugwu (Udenu Constituency) who was reelected House Leader and Mary Onyinye (Enugu South Rural), who retained her position as Deputy Leader.

Also, Aniekan Bassey (Uruan State Constituency) yesterday emerged Speaker of the seventh Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, while Mrs. Felicia Bassey (Okobo State Constituency) was re-elected Deputy Speaker.

Clerk of the House, Mrs. Mandu Umoren, had earlier read a letter of proclamation from Governor Udom Emmanuel inaugurating the House in line with provisions of Section 105 (3) of the 1999 Constitution (as emended).

Other principal officers are, a former deputy speaker in the sixth Assembly Uduak Ududo (Ikot Abasi/Eastern Obolo), Emmanuel Ekpenyong (Ini State Constituency) and Udo Kyrian Akpan (Oruk Anam State Constituency) who was re-elected Leader of the 26-member seventh assembly.

Besides, the Nasarawa State House of Assembly has re-elected Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi as Speaker in the sixth Assembly.

It also elected Nehemiah Tsetse Dandaura (APC-Akwanga North Constituency) as Deputy Speaker of the sixth assembly and returned unopposed.

Balarabe-Abdullahi was returned unopposed after his nomination by Mohammed Okpoku (APC Udege Logo) and seconded by Aliyu Dogara (Wamba Constituency) during the inauguration of the Assembly in Lafia.

The speaker was sworn-in by Clerk of the House, Ego Maikeffi Abashe.

However, Olakunle Oluomo (Ifo 1 State Constituency), who was a Deputy Speaker of the Ogun State Eighth Assembly, has been elected Speaker of the House, while. Oludare Kadiri (Ijebu-North II State Constituency), emerged Deputy Speaker.

Oluomo and Kadiri were nominated by Babatunde Sobukonla (Ikenne State Constituency) and seconded by Adegoke Olusesi (Yewa North II).

After reading Governor Dapo Abiodun’s proclamation letter, Deputy Clerk of the House, Adedeji Adeyemo inaugurated the Ninth Assembly.

In Delta State, Sheriff Oborevwori (Okpe Constituency) and Ochor Christopher Ochor (Ukwuani Constituency) emerged Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the seventh e House of Assembly.

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa who sought the cooperation of House for a stronger Delta, in a statement in Asaba yesterday, commended the members for their choice of Oborevwori and Ochor as presiding officers of the House, noting that they would bring their experience to bear in the discharge of their duties.

In Abia State, Chinedum Orji (Umuahia Central Constituency) who is son of former governor Theodore Orji was elected Speaker.

Governor Okexie Ikpeazu, who was represented by his deputy, Dr. Ude Oko Chukwu, inaugurated the seventh House of Assembly yesterday.

Ifeanayi Uchendu (Ohafia South) was also elected Deputy Speaker, while Solomon Akpulonu (Obingwa East) was elected Majority Leader with Paul Taribo (Ukwa East) is Deputy Majority Leader.

The Ebonyi State House of Assembly yesterday reelected Francis Nwifuru Speaker after Governor Dave Umahi proclaimed the sixth Assembly.

Other principal officers are, Obasi Odefs (Deputy Speaker), Victor Chukwu (Leader), Kingsley Ikoro (Deputy Leader), Humphrey Nwuruku (Chief Whip) and Benjamin Ezeoma (Deputy Chief Whip).

The Plateau State House of Assembly elected Ayuba Nuhu Abok (Jos East Constituency), a 500 level student of Law at the University of Jos Speaker of the ninth Assembly.

Meanwhile, men of the Nigeria Police Force and Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) yesterday besieged the Edo State House of Assembly (EDHA) complex in Benin City.

The Guardian learnt that this was to forestall break down of law and order ahead of the inauguration of the Seventh Assembly, as the development prevented the lawmakers and members of staff from gaining access into the complex for the day’s duty.

Sources at the EDHA alleged that the security personnel were acting on the Governor Godwin Obaseki’s orders with a view to preventing the incoming lawmakers loyal to Adams Oshiomhole from electing the Speaker and other principal officers.

But Media Aide to the governor, Crusoe Osagie, said Obaseki was in Abuja following his election as Vice Chairman of the Progressives Governors Forum and that he could not be in Abuja and be doing proclamation for the Edo Assembly.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet