Wednesday, 27th September 2023

Ibadan: NANS executive, 39 others bag jail terms for N195m Internet fraud

By Rotimi Agboluaje, Ibadan 
25 August 2022   |   2:50 am
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Ibadan Zonal Command, has secured the conviction and sentencing of the Director of Logistics of the National Association of Nigerian Students

Ibadan, Oyo State

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Ibadan Zonal Command, has secured the conviction and sentencing of the Director of Logistics of the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS), Federal University, Oye-Ekiti Chapter, Adeyemi Abiodun, to one-year imprisonment for N195 million internet-related fraud.

He was among 40 persons convicted on separate charges before four judges of Oyo State High Court, Ibadan.
Their offences bordered on impersonation, obtaining money, property by false pretences and forgery contrary to Sections 419, 467, 484, 516 and 508 of the Criminal Code Law Cap 38, Laws of Oyo State, 2000.
Abiodun was arraigned before Justice Iyabo Yerima, while 39 others were prosecuted before Justices Bayo Taiwo, Akintola Ladiran and Olusola Adetujoye between August 15 and 23, 2022.
The one-count charge against Abiodun reads: “That you, Adeyemi Israel Abiodun and Odaise Precious Abiola (aka Prezzy) (at large) on or about 30th March 2022 at Ibadan, within the Ibadan Judicial Division did conspire to forge various United States of America (USA) banks cheques and purport same to be genuine and thereby committed the offence of conspiracy to commit forgery contrary to Section 516 and 467 of the Criminal Code Law, Cap 38, Laws of Oyo State, 2000.”
Abiodun and the others pleaded “guilty” to the charges filed against them by the EFCC.
In view of their guilty pleas, the prosecution reviewed the facts of the cases, tendered confessional statements and documents recovered from the convicts as exhibits and urged the courts to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.
Consequently, Abiodun, Daniel and Ayomide were convicted and sentenced to one-year imprisonment each without the “option of fine”, while Akiniyi bagged three months jailed terms and six months community service.
Other defendants were convicted and sentenced to six months of community service each.
Furthermore, the court ordered Abiodun to pay the sum of $1,000USD in restitution and forfeit a white Mercedes Benz CLA-250 with a customised NANS plate number worth N16 million, a gold neck chain and one ice neck chain worth N3.6million, bitcoin worth $58, 854.88, one Apple MacBook Pro 2020 Model and an iPhone 12 Pro Max to the Federal Government of Nigeria.
Also, other convicts were ordered to restitute their victims and forfeit all items recovered from them.
Recall that Abiodun, a 200-level student of Economics and Development Studies of the Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State, was arrested on March 30, 2022, alongside 79 others in a sting operation by the operatives of the Ibadan Zonal Command of the EFCC at Sango area of Ibadan, Oyo State for alleged internet fraud.
EFCC’s investigations revealed that between July 2021 and March 2022, Abiodun got N195, 274, 331.00 as cumulative heist from cyber-fraud, involving forgery of over 25 USA banks cheques.
The convicts are Yekeen Azeez Ishola; Okeniyi Sanuel Akiniyi; Theophilus Ademola Bukola; Salami Mohammed Adetayo; Pelumi Ajayi Temiloluwa; Lawal Abdullateef Olalekan; Okusanwo Mayowa Daniel; Oluwole Oluwasegun Ayomide and Adedotun Omodele Yusuf.
Others are Monday Nnaemeka Samuel; Idowu Adeshina; Olowe Nifemi Ayomide; Adubu Olamiotan Sunday; Olatunji Kehinde; Oguntuase Tope Francis; Elijah Isaac Wisdom; Ogbonnaya  Chukwu; Adekola Adekunle; Odebode Temiloluwa Kehinde, Joseph Odunayo Clement; Andrew Adekunle Masika; Usman Mubarak Damilare; Isiaka Olumide Hammed; Uawu Osita Henry; Kareem Afeez Alabi and Ogunyemi Ayobami Samuel.
Others include Mimiola Victor Olamide, Adeeko Kolade Emmanuel, Egberongbe Adedayo Quam, Oyelaran Olayiwola Jeremiah, Hammed Rilwan Ishola, Adefowora Omotayo David, Adedeji Ibrahim Olamilekan, Emmanuel Timileyin Akinbowale, Michael Damola Olanrewaju, Ayanyemi Olaide Samuel, Boye Timilehin Emmanuel, Timileyin Ajibola Idowu and Azeez Tolulope Ayoade.