Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

LafargeHolcim awards for sustainable design enters sixth cycle


Lafarge Africa Technical Service Manager, Bukola Adebisi; Sustainable Development & Corporate Brand Manager, Titilope Oguntuga; Communication, Public Affairs & Sustainable Development (CPASD) Director, Folashade Ambrose-Medebem, Immediate Past President of the Nigerian Institute of Architects; Mr. Tonye Braide and Lafarge Africa Business Engagement Communication Manager, Ginika Frank-Durugbor.

LafargeHolcim has announced the commencement of the sixth cycle of its awards which recognise the innovative projects of leading professionals and “bold ideas” of next generation of professionals and students.

LafargeHolcim Foundation, which organises the global awards, was founded in 2003 to raise awareness about the roles architecture, engineering and urban planning play in the global industry.

“We want Nigeria to be well represented in the Middle East and Africa region,” said Folashade Ambrose-Medebem, Lafarge Africa’s director of Communication, Public Affairs and Sustainable Development, on Thursday in Lagos.


“We are looking within our country for visionary projects that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence from professionals as well as bold ideas from young people.”

Nigeria’s Kunle Adeyemi won an acknowledgement prize in 2014 for a project he executed in Port Harcourt.

With a total of $2 million prize money at stake, the organisers of the award said its impacts go beyond the money to include the improvement of communities across the world, empowerment of construction professionals and contributes to the achievement of sustainable development goals.

The awards are in two categories – the Main Awards and Next Generation, which caters to young professionals and students who are up to 30 years of age.

“In both categories, execution of the project may not have started before January 1, 2019,” said Titilope Oguntuga, Lafarge Africa’s Sustainable Development and Corporate Brand Manager.

Entries close on February 25, 2020, leading to the regional jury evaluation in June/July 2020.

Regional winners will be announced in November 2020 while global winners will emerge in mid-2021.

Evaluation criteria include innovation and transferability, ethical standards and social inclusion, resource and environmental performance, economic viability and compatibility and contextual and aesthetic impact.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet