Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Lassa fever outbreak kills seven, infects 25 in seven states, FCT


Patient with Lassa Fever

Ahead of the first International Lassa fever conference scheduled for January 16 and 17, 2019 in Abuja, the virus has killed seven in 25 confirmed cases from seven states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja.

A breakdown of the figures, yesterday, by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) showed that the 25 new cases were from Edo (nine), Ondo (eight), Bauchi (three), FCT (one), Nasarawa (one), Ebonyi (one), Plateau (one) and Taraba (one). States with seven new deaths include Ondo (two), Edo (one), Nasarawa (one), Plateau (one) FCT (one) and Taraba (one).

According to the NCDC, in the reporting Week 01 (January 1-6, 2019), 57 suspected cases have been reported and of these, 25 were confirmed positive and 32 negative (not a case).

It said that Edo, Ondo, Bauchi, Nasarawa Ebonyi, Plateau, Taraba and FCT) had recorded at least one confirmed case across 14 local councils but no new healthcare worker was affected.


According to the NCDC, 25 patients are currently being managed at Irrua Specialist Teaching Hospital Treatment Centre (14), Federal Medical Centre Owo (six), Bauchi (three), Ebonyi (one) and Plateau (one) and 482 contacts in eight states and are currently under follow up.

In this article:
Lassa feverNCDC
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet