Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

National Assembly election tribunal gets three petitions in FCT


[FILES] FCT, Abuja

The National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in the FCT has received three petitions from aggrieved candidates who were not satisfied with the conduct of the Feb. 23 National Assembly election in the territory.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the petitioners, are candidates from National Conscience party (NCP), Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM) and the All Progressives Congress, are challenging the results of two senatorial and one House of Representatives seats as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

NAN reports that out of the three petitions, one was filed by the NCP candidate, Mr Fisayo Makanjuola against Sen. Philip Aduda, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and INEC as respondents.

The second petition was filed by a candidate of the PDM, Ekechi Chinyere against INEC, Sen. Aduda and the PDP.

Mr Amanda Pam and APC filed a petition against Hon. Micah Giba, PDP, INEC and REC.

NAN reports that the President of the Court of Appeal, Justice Zainab Bulkachuwa, constituted the FCT National Assembly election petition tribunal sitting in Abuja.

The constitution was pursuant to paragraph 133(3) a and b of the Electoral Act as amended.

The tribunal is located at the FCT High Court, Apo, Abuja.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet