The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Adegboruwa, Apata, Rhodes-Vivour, 35 others make SAN list


LagosS-Based human rights activist, Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa; Solicitor General of the Federation (SGF) and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Adedayo Apata; wife of Supreme Court Justice, Mrs. Adedoyin Rhodes-Vivour and 35 others, were, yesterday, conferred with the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).

The rank was conferred on them by the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee (LPPC), which said it found them worthy in conduct, character and performance in the legal profession.

Others conferred with the title include Olusegun Jolaawo; Prof. Alphonsus Alubo; Prof. Mamman Lawan; Prof. Uchefula Chukwumaeze; Abdullahi Haruna; Manga Nurudeen; John Asoluka; Adedokun Makinde; Daniel Enwelum; Emmanuel Oyebanji; Tuduru Ede; Abdul Ajana; Ama Etuwewe; Oladipo Olasope; Leslie Nylander; Olusegun Fowowe and Andrew Hutton.

Also on the list are Samuel Agweh; Olukayode Enitan; Paul Ogbole; Olaniyi Olopade; Ayo Asala; Abiodun Olatunji; Olumide Aju; Chimezie Ihekweazu; Usman Sule; Saffiya Badamasi; Echezona Etiaba; Godwin Omoaka; Emeka Ozoani; Alexander Ejesieme; Jephthah Njikonye; Aikhunnegbe Malik; Alhassan Umar and Oyetola Atoyebi.

The Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, who is also the Secretary of the LPPC, Hadizatu Mustapha, who made the announcement, disclosed that a total of 117 legal practitioners applied for the rank across the country, out of which 80 candidates were shortlisted for interview, from where successful candidates were picked.

According to Mustapha, only four women applied for the rank, out of which only two made the final list, adding that out of the 38 awardees, three were from the academia. The successful candidates would be inaugurated later in September.


In this article:
Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet