The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

FCT secretaries may take office today


BARING last minute hitches, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Minister, Bala Mohammed would today supervise the inauguration of the newly appointed Secretaries for the seven Mandate Secretariats of the FCT.

The FCT Secretaries function like commissioners in the 36 States of the federation.

After several weeks of intense lobbying and intrigues, President Goodluck Jonathan last Wednesday finally approved the reconstitution of the Mohammed-led FCT cabinet following the dissolution of the former cabinet three weeks ago.

Despite assurances that a new cabinet would be reconstituted within one week of his assumption of office, it was learnt that intense intrigues and power-play delayed the process leading to the reconstitution last week.

The FCT minister had told residents when he assumed office that “the new Executive Committee to be reconstituted would be in tandem with new strategies for driving the vision of the FCT being outlined in the road map of this administration.”

However, the minister also gave indication that some members of the former Mandate Secretariats would form the nucleus of the incoming Executive Committee.

Accordingly, Mohammed last Wednesday re-appointed some of the Mandate Secretaries earlier relieved of their posts into the new cabinet.

Special Assistant to the Minister on Media, Nosike Ogbuenyi, in a statement, said Jonathan had approved the reconstitution of the FCT Executive Committee with Secretaries appointed for the seven Mandate Secretariats.

He told The Guardian in a telephone interview yesterday that the new executive council would be inaugurated today, adding that three of the secretaries would retain their portfolios, while one would be redeployed to another secretariat.

Specifically, Mr. Olusegun Awolowo who was in charge of Transport Secretariat in the last Executive Committee, has been redeployed to the Area Council Secretariat, while his counterpart in Education, Halilu Pai, Dr. Precious Gbeneol, who was in charge of Health Secretariat and Mohammed Alkali of the Legal Services Secretariat retained their portfolios.

The new Mandate Secretaries include Hamza Adamu Buwai who is to take charge of Agriculture and Rural Development Secretariat; Mrs. Blessing Onyeche Onuh, Social Development Secretariat; and Ivoke Jonathan Achara, Secretary, Transportation Secretariat.

Also, Fatima Bintu Shettima has been appointed Coordinator, Abuja Municipal Management Council (AMMC).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet