Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NJC nominates four Supreme Court judges, 18 others for appointment


The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended four Supreme Court judges and 18 others for appointment into federal and state judiciary.

The Justice Tanko Muhammad-led body arrived at the decision after adopting the report of its Interview Committee that recommended the 22 jurists to President Muhammadu Buhari and the governors of Edo, Ondo, Akwa Ibom, Kogi, Anambra, Taraba, Abia, Osun, Nasarawa and Jigawa states for appointment.

The four considered for the apex court are Justices Adamu Jauro; Emmanuel Agim; C. Oseji and Helen M. Ogunwumiju.


Besides, the NJC also recommended Justice Tsoho John Terhemba as Chief Judge of the Federal High Court while Justice B. B. Kanyip was picked for the presidency of the National Industrial Court.

Others are Justice Esther Amenaghawon Edigin as Chief Judge of Edo State and Justice Eunice Aderonke Alade as President of Customary Court of Appeal, Ondo State.

For the Osun High Court, the council nominated Justices Mathias Olusegun Agboola; Sikiru Adeposi Oke; Olorunfemi Judith Ajanaku and Lawrence Olawale Arojo.

Justice Bawa Sunday Baba was equally tipped as Chief Judge of Nasarawa State while Justice Nkeruwem Martin Obot is for the Akwa Ibom High Court.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet