Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Obaseki unveils committee to establish Diaspora agency



Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, yesterday, constituted an eight-man steering committee chaired by the State Head of Service (HoS), Anthony Okungbowa, to oversee the establishment of the state’s Diaspora Agency.
In a statement issued in Benin City, Secretary to State Government (SSG), Osarodion Ogie, said Obaseki approved Okungbowa’s appointment as Chairman of the committee, while Isaac Ebewele will serve as Secretary.
Other members of the committee are, the ambassador of the African Bar Association for East, Central and Southern Africa, Adesuwa Matthew Beeki Uwaifo; Dr. Loretta Oduware Ogboro-Okor; Chris Osarumwense; Soni Irabor; President, Nigerians in Diaspora Organisation (NIDO), Dr. Johnson Odibo and Prof. Isa Odili.
Ogie said the committee’s terms of reference include: “To prepare a draft bill for the Edo State Diaspora Agency Law; prepare a detailed starting plan for the agency and define resource requirements for its commencement.”
He explained that the committee would also source for Chairman and Director-General of the agency and recommend names to the governor for approval, facilitate internal and external collaboration with stakeholders, consider any other relevant matters and make recommendations to the state government, as may be deemed necessary.
“The committee is expected to complete its assignment within days and submit its report to the state government,” the statement added.


In this article:
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet