Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Oleyelogun, Iroju return as Ondo speaker, deputy


Ondo State House of Assembly

Ondo State House of Assembly has reelected Bamidele Oleyelogun and Deji Iroju as Speaker and Deputy Speaker as the 26-member Ninth Assembly, whose complex will soon be renovated by the state government, was inaugurated yesterday.

The lawmakers nominated Oleyelogun and Iroju, who are third and second term members from Ifedore and Odigbo 1 constituency and voted them unopposed.

Other returning members, who were elected principal officers are, Jamiu Maito, (Majority Leader); Abayomi Akinruntan (Parliamentary Secretary), while new members like Rasheed Elegbeleye and Adeyemi Oluyemi, emerged Minority Leader and Chief Whip.


Besides, Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu met the lawmakers during the inauguration programme and assured the House of mutual relationship with its leadership.

Akeredolu said the legislative and executive arms of government should work in harmony for the state to move forward, stressing that such would make the people to reap better dividends of democracy.

Besides, Deputy Chairman of the Nigeria Conference of Speakers, Peter Abel Diah and former Deputy Speaker of the Taraba State House of Assembly, Danladi Gwampo have been re-elected to preside over the Ninth Assembly.

The 24-member Assembly unanimously reelected the two principal, who held the offices in the Eighth Assembly.

Diah who was ascending the position for the third term, is the longest serving member of the state House of Assembly and in the north-east zone, having served in the House since 2003.

Nominated by representative of Takum 2 constituency, Mark Useni and seconded by representative of Zing, John Kizito Bonzina, the Ninth Assembly under the leadership of Diah, they said, would further catapult the state to greater heights.


Responding, Diah commended his colleagues for deeming it fit to reelect him as Speaker, assuring that he would be ‘a servant leader’ in the Ninth assembly, as well as ensure a robust and rancor-free Assembly.

He also commended Governor Darius Dickson Ishaku for providing checks and balances in Assembly, adding that he would make extra efforts to address the welfare of staff members of the Assembly.

Meanwhile, outgoing Speaker of the Eight Assembly in Benue State, Titus Uba has been reelected Speaker of the Ninth Assembly unopposed.

His emergence was sequel to a motion of nomination moved by Mr Terkaa Ucha, representing Tiev State Constituency and seconded by Mrs Agnes Uloko representing Ado.

Also, representative of Ohimini state constituency, Christopher Adaji was relected Deputy Speaker following his nomination by representative of Oju II, Joseph Okpanya and seconded by representative of Gwer West, Damian Cheme.

Responding, Uba urged his colleagues to brace up for the new challenges ahead to make quality legislations for good governance in the state and thanked his constituents and colleagues for the privilege to serve them, stressing that he would not betray the confidence reposed in him.

Governor Samuel Ortom advised members of the Ninth Assembly to shun political, religious and other cleavages for the overall interest of the state, saying the people have already set machineries in place to commence assessment of their performances.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet