The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ondo Assembly extends tenure of local government chairmen


Akure, Alagbaka Business Destrict, Ondo. Photo: techloy

Akure, Alagbaka Business Destrict, Ondo. Photo: techloy

The Ondo State House of Assembly on Tuesday extended the tenure of the Interim Caretaker Chairmen of the state’s 18 Local Government Councils, by six months.

The decision of the House was sequel to a motion moved by the Chairman, Committee on Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon Afolabi Akinsiku , representing Ondo West 1 constituency.

The motion titled, “Elongation of the Local Government Chairmen’s Tenure’’, was seconded by Hon Aladetan Oyebo, representing Ilaje 1 constituency.

The two lawmakers had argued that the elongation was necessary to forestall vacuum in governance and to afford people in the state unhindered access to good governance.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that six-month tenure of the council Chairmen, lapsed earlier in the month.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet