The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Oyo PDP to reconcile members


PDP National Chairman, Adamu Mu'azu

PDP National Chairman, Adamu Mu’azu

Smarting from its loss at the recently concluded general elections, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo state has began moves towards bouncing back and becoming a formidable opposition in the state.

The party had lost the governorship election to the ruling All Progressives Party (APC) in the march 28, election. It also performed woefully in both the National and State Assemblies elections, failing to win a single legislative seat.

Worried by the development, a group within the party at the Basorun residence of one of the party stalwart and the convener, Adebisi Olopoenia, in Ibadan launched what it called a “Reformed PDP”

Olopoenia said the motive behind the move “is to reform the party and also make it a force to reckon with in the world of politics.”

According to him, “The last session was marred with inordinate ambitions, but, by the time we hold our congress in March 2016, we will have those that can take the party to greater heights in place.

“The former leaders are not honest with most of us who are real party people and the PDP we are going to have now is going to be a collection of new breed PDP members”.

Former Chairman of the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) and one of the party’s governorship aspirants in the last election, Soji Adejumo, who was one of those present at the meeting, confirmed the move.

He said, “I am fully part of the whole process. This re-branded PDP will do away with politics of selfish moribund unintelligent interest by some party leaders who struggled to take control of the party”.

Other party stalwarts, including Azeez Salawudeen (alias Eyonbo Anobi) from Atisbo Local Government area of the state, Ismaila Osuolale Ashipa from Ibadan North Local Government area and Busari Murtala (alias Moriyeba) from Atiba Local Government area pledged their support and that of other members of the party in the local government for the reformed PDP.

The PDP stalwarts from 13 local government areas of Oyo-East, Atiba, Ibadan South-East, Ibadan North,  Afjio, Olorunsogo, Itesiwaju, Ibadan North-West, Ibadan North-East, Atisbo, Saki-East, Kajola and Saki-West all agreed that the party could not afford not to return to its number one position it is known for.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

1 Comment