The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

UBTH holds performance award, honours deserving staff members


Dr. Osahon Enabulele

The Department of Family Medicine, University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH) has held its first staff productivity and performance reward day and end of year party to celebrate deserving workers in the medical profession.

Head of Department, Family Medicine, UBTH, Dr. Osahon Enabulele, said the event is to recognise and honour deserving workers as well as celebration of the successes recorded in the year.Enabulele who lauded the Chief Medical Director (CMD), Dr. Darlington Obaseki, and top management of UBTH for their foresight to taking the hospital to greater heights, emphasized on team spirit for collective attainments.

He added that the Obaseki leadership at the hospital is the evident improvement in the commitment of staff to assigned tasks, with improved performance and productivity despite the infrastructural limitations and depressed economic climate.

Enabulele said his leadership as HOD has generated several platforms for engaging both the resident doctors and staff in all the units of the department, including but not limited to the setting up of an emotional intelligence committee and performance evaluation platforms in all the units of the department.

He noted that “this was to make sure that while we expected so much from the staff, we on our part as leaders, also offered responsive, effective, proactive and inspirational leadership, with just and fair reward for hardwork and good performance by staff in all the units of the department.”

He said the achievement of the target of 100 per cent pass for its candidate sitting for each stage (written or clinical) of the National and West African postgraduate examinations has been one of the department’s truly phenomenal achievements.

“Whereas in the last four years before I took over as HOD, it used to be a great ordeal laced with lamentations each time our Residents went for exams with an average of one out of five candidate returning home with a pass. But we have since overcome this, as it is now common place for most of our Residents to sit for exams with virtually all of them coming home with success stories,” Enabulele said.

“The net effect of all of these is that whereas in times past, the department produced an average of two senior Registrars per year, in the last 11 months, we have produced 8 Senior Registrars in the department including Dr. Kelvin Agbon Ogieva who bagged the ‘Most Patient Friendly Staff’ Award.”

The Vice Chancellor, University of Benin (UNIBEN), Prof Faraday Orumwense (represented by Deputy-Vice Chancellor, Academics), Prof Pius Iribhogbe, former provost College of Medical Sciences UNIBEN, Prof. Vincent Iyawe, and Provost, College of Medical Sciences, UNIBEN, Prof. Efosa Oviasu among others were honoured for their roles and contributions to the Department of Family Medicine, UBTH.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet