Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Seven African nations get €152m EU humanitarian aid


The European Union (EU) is granting Nigeria and six other African nations fresh €152.05 million to tackle armed conflicts, climate change, food crisis and other humanitarian challenges in the Sahel region.

The Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid and Crisis management, Christos Stylianides, made the disclosure.Combined with last year’s funding, humanitarian assistance to the area has climbed to over €423 million, making the bloc a leading donor in the region.

The breakdown indicates that Burkina Faso got €15.7 million); Cameroun (€17.8 million); Chad (€27.2 million); Mali (23.55 million); Mauritania (€11.15 million); Niger (€23.15 million) and Nigeria (€28 million).

An additional €5.5 million is allocated to a regional project that fights malnutrition in Burkina Faso, Mali, Mauritania and Niger.
The Sahel region is marked by extreme vulnerability and poverty. Regional and inter-community armed conflicts trigger mass displacements of people. Violence makes it impossible for people to access their fields or go to markets.


In this article:
Christos Stylianides
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet